Orange, Walnut, Gorgonzola and Mixed Greens Salad with Fresh Citrus Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Light, refreshing and perfect for a summer salad.... The citrus vinaigrette was a nice touch - will definitely make again. Update - made this the 2nd time and used walnut oil in place of the vegetable oil. Using the walnut oil made all the difference, moved this salad from wonderful to outstanding!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
235 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suzy
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
This salad is to die for! After making it a few times I have found what works best for us. I added a bit less OJ (1/4 cup less, be sure to use fresh squeezed), half the sugar and I use brown not white, and added half a clove of crushed garlic to give it a kick. Added some salt and a bit more Dijon (1TBS) as well. I also used mandarin oranges in a pinch they will work as well. Sometimes I use pecans and chevre cheese in place of walnuts and gorgonzola. Both are excellent. Heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
The best part of this recipe is the dressing. The salad ingredients can be modified to suit one's taste. I was looking for an arugula salad recipe that tasted like a salad I had at a local restaurant. With a few substitutes in toppings, this salad was very similar in flavor, but a lot less expensive than the restaurant version. I like to sometimes use sliced fresh pears instead of oranges, omit the onions, use glazed pecans instead of walnuts, and use goat cheese instead of the Gorgonzola. However, I use the dressing as is. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Starkville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
This salad is very good (addictive, in fact) with the following changes (some to decrease the amount of sugar): use walnut oil in place of one of the oils, use mandarin oranges instead of navel oranges, no added sugar, less OJ, regular walnut pieces, and bagged spring mix to make it snappy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Bridges

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
I made this for Valentine's Day dinner as suggested by the Allrecipes Newsletter. The flavor was unique and interesting. I thought the oranges, red onion and gorgonzola were very tasty together. The dressing turned out well and I do hope to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
I substituted drained mandarin oranges, that had been in juice instead of a light syrup, for the naval oranges (easier & visually pleasing) and Splenda for the sugar. As I was out of Dijon, I used spicy brown mustard and also omitted the oregano due to family preference. I think this would be yummy with blue cheese or feta as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Excellent flavor combo! (even forgetting to add the red onion) The dressing is great but quite sweet - I would halve the sugar next time and possibly add a little salt. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
I have made this several times and it is always a hit. I have used splenda, and added feta cheese instead of gorgonzola and it was excellant. As other reviewers have noted, the salad greens can be changed to suit your preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TerryB

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cayucos, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
i had this at a dinner party and all the guest insisted on leaving with the recipe. It was more of a hit than the main course
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
I used the dressing from this salad, but added pumpkin & sunflower seeds, halved cashews, slivered almonds, raisins & feta cheese to the greens....amazing! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Harvest Salad

A yummy salad to enjoy all year round.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States