Orange, Walnut, Gorgonzola and Mixed Greens Salad with Fresh Citrus Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I liked the basic flavor profile of this recipe - sweet, savory and salty. I made the dressing according to the directions, but I found it a bland and sweet. It definitely needed more acid so I added additional balsamic vinegar. For extra flavor, I upped the amount of mustard and added a couple cloves of pasted garlic (garlic and kosher salt mashed with a pestle). I liked the final dressing result much better. I would make this recipe again but with the above modifications plus a possible reduction in the amount of sugar, depending on the sweetness of my orange juice (I used fresh squeezed navel orange juice).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Excellent! This salad has a light and refreshing taste. Great for outdoors summer BBQs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I liked the contents of the salad (but we used crumbled goat cheese instead of gorgonzola), but did not care for the dressing. It tasted much too heavy and sweet for me, and I had to throw the whole thing out and start over. I ended up making a dressing with 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar, 1/2 cup grapeseed oil, 1/4 cup orange juice, and some fresh squeezed lemon juice, a spoon of dijon mustard, and some salt and pepper, so that salvaged the salad, but it still could have been better. I'm still looking for a good citrus dressing to use with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VesHeill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Great salad. Made dressing per directions. Only difference in salad was to use mandarain oranges for convenience. Will make again. The salad does not need a lot of dressing and the recipe makes a lot so may cut ingredients for dressing in half next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Only changes were sweet onion (no red to be found), as well as dijon with honey (what I had in the fridge). Positively heavenly salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Extremely good dressing. I've made it several time over to eat during the week! This salad is definitely company-worthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
This salad is awesome! A friend introduced me to it, now it is a staple at my house- The only change I make is since my husband is diabetic, I use splenda in the dressing instead of sugar and it works just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amharris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Great salad! The dressing was good as is, but next time I'll omit the sugar (maybe add a tiny bit of Stevia) and use a little less oil. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canon City, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Made for Valentines day party. The dressing was awesome. I used canned mandarin oranges and pomegranate balsamic vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sauk Village, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hobart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
What a great salad. Beautifully blended ingredients. Loved the dressing. I only put in one orange but will put in the second one next time, everyone was fighting over them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Orange Cumin Vinaigrette

A simple salad dressing seasoned with Dijon, orange zest, and cumin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States