Orange, Walnut, Gorgonzola and Mixed Greens Salad with Fresh Citrus Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by annie
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This 5 stars is only for the dressing. I downsized the dressing recipe for 2 and it still made plenty...at least for me since I don't use too much. It made at least 1/2 cup which will last me for at least 4-6 more meals. Instead of orange juice, I juiced some mandarin oranges. I only added a very small pinch of dried oregano. The salad consisted of what I had on hand...romaine lettuce, toasted walnuts, fresh mandarin oranges slices, pickled red onions, toasted sesame seeds, and a soy marinated and grilled salmon. The dressing complimented all the ingredients very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annie
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
The combination of ingredients is wonderful, but you could come up with your personal preferences pretty easily - I used feta instead of gorgonzola, but chevre would have been good too. I used mandarin oranges instead of navel oranges, especially because October is not "orange season". The dressing was too sweet for me though - I used o.j. from my fridge and perhaps if you used fresh squeezed o.j. instead, it wouldn't be as sweet. If I make again, I will significantly reduce the sugar so it's not so sweet. Otherwise, it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA
Living In: Joseph, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
This was a very nice salad. If I were to change one thing, instead of using fresh naval oranges I would use mandarin oranges, I think the presentation would have been a bit nicer. Very nice and fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delran, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I just returned from a church potluck. My salad bowl was already empty and I was near the front of the line! Yep, it was very popular.. A few tips. Since I used a glazed nut(honey roasted almonds)I was wary of the sugar in the dressing, so here is what I did. I made the dressing without sugar, then added sugar tablespoon by tablespoon. I kept dipping a piece of lettuce (spring mix)until I liked the balance of tart and sweet. It was less than 1/4c of sugar.Another thing I noticed. If the vinaigrette dressing wasn't totally shaken just before dressing the salad, you got an oily, boring taste. i.e. it needed to be emulsified or it was dreadful.There must be something in commercial dressings that helps emulsify. I was pleased with the dressing and obviously everyone else loved it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berea, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
awesome, i used green onions instead of red because that is what i had and it was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
This is a great salad even without the Gorgonzola. My husband and I both loved this salad and the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
This salad was a big hit. I had forgotten the Gorgonzola at home so I used some feta that my friend had in the fridge. I made a double batch of the salad and they were scraping the bowl. I agree with some of the reviews that the dressing was a bit on the bland side, but with all the flavours of the salad you hardly noticed. The red onions and walnuts are truly the star of this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chateauguay, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
This delicious salad received rave reviews at a party I attended. It's easy to make, delicious, and healthy to boot. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Silverhill, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Harvest Salad

A yummy salad to enjoy all year round.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States