Orange, Walnut, Gorgonzola and Mixed Greens Salad with Fresh Citrus Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I made the dressing for a similar salad - granny smith apples, glazed walnuts, red onion, chicken, but I forgot my blue cheese! I really liked the dressing. Made it in my food processor, cut the OJ to 1/4 cup, added some kosher salt. Will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I loved this recipe! Even my boyfriend, who is a "meat and potatoes" type of eater gobbled it up! I added feta b/c I did not have gorgonzola and added cranberries for an extra touch, and it was delicious! I'll definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clarebear03
Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Wonderful to look at, and even better to eat. I used mandarin oranges as well simply because I had some on hand. I had lots of dressing left over, and it kept well. Thanks so much for the recipe...this salad has become a regular in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
What a great salad recipe! I did follow other's suggestions and eased up on the sugar. I added a tsp at a time until it was just right. I brought this dish to our neighbours for pot luck and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by little.mrs.h

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
we loved this. I am thinking of adding a little tarragon to the dressing next time. I used toasted almonds but I am thinking that pine nuts might be good also. Such a different way to make salad. Thanks for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
My family loves this, even our 9yo. We just use less red onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bevrlee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Very good salad - great for summer or winter!! The dressing makes the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
The only reason I gave this a four and not a five is because the recipe calls for a bit too much sugar, so I cut that by half. Otherwise, the salad is wonderful. I make it every year at Christmas for my family and they always rave over it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by annie
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This 5 stars is only for the dressing. I downsized the dressing recipe for 2 and it still made plenty...at least for me since I don't use too much. It made at least 1/2 cup which will last me for at least 4-6 more meals. Instead of orange juice, I juiced some mandarin oranges. I only added a very small pinch of dried oregano. The salad consisted of what I had on hand...romaine lettuce, toasted walnuts, fresh mandarin oranges slices, pickled red onions, toasted sesame seeds, and a soy marinated and grilled salmon. The dressing complimented all the ingredients very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annie
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
The combination of ingredients is wonderful, but you could come up with your personal preferences pretty easily - I used feta instead of gorgonzola, but chevre would have been good too. I used mandarin oranges instead of navel oranges, especially because October is not "orange season". The dressing was too sweet for me though - I used o.j. from my fridge and perhaps if you used fresh squeezed o.j. instead, it wouldn't be as sweet. If I make again, I will significantly reduce the sugar so it's not so sweet. Otherwise, it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA
Living In: Joseph, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Harvest Salad

A yummy salad to enjoy all year round.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States