Orange Vinaigrette Brown Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by RUBES1
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
I don't know how the original recipe would have come out, but w/ the way mine came out, I'd give it 5-stars! I made some minor adjustments: 1)I added in a clove of garlic as another reviewer recommended- it was strong at 1st, but great the next day, just right. 2)Secondly, after tasting the salad, I felt it was too "vinegary," (like another reviewer found it to be), so I added in another tbsp or 2 of oil & some more OJ (about 2-3 tbsps). An alternative would be to cut back on the vinegar to begin w/, to about 1/2 the amount. 3)The recipe says to stir in the spinach, onion & oranges right before serving, but the next day, after having sat in the dressing, the salad tasted sensational- MUCH better! The 1st day I would have given it 3-4 stars, but the second day I'd give it 5! The spinach leaves & rice really soak up the flavor. This is definitely a salad that's better to make the night before serving. I also added in some diced cooked chicken breast I had leftover from the night before & made it into a whole meal. That was delicious! I've submitted a photo of this recipe. Hope they approve it & post it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUBES1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
I MADE THIS SALAD FOR A LADIES LUNCHEON AND IT RECIEVED RAVE REVIEWS. I COOKED THE RICE IN SWANSON'S VEGETABLE BROTH AND ADDED DRIED CRANBERRIES FOR COLOR. WOULD MAKE THIS AGAIN IT IS A WINNER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2001
This turned out great! I will definately make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2003
I varied the actual salad quite a bit so I can't comment on that, but this dressing is AMAZING. Seriously, it is one of the most delicious concoctions I've seen in a while! Thank you so much, I will use this as a salad dressing and a marinade. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
Based on a couple of reviews that said this dish was bland, I made some modifications and the dish was delicious. I toasted some slivered almonds and added about 1 1/2 tsp. of Mrs. Dash seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2004
For added zip, to the orange juice mixture, add on clove minced fresh garlic. Works very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
Way too much rice for the rest of the ingredients. But rice was good and the left over portion will make another salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOXHUNTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2000
Great 'company' dish on a hot day. Served with BBQ chicken breast it made an awesome meal - highly recommend it!! The rice when cooling absorbs the orange juice and creates a really nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
I used white and wild rice (what I had in the pantry) and cooked it with a little butter and salt. I left out the spinach, orange and onion. Instead I used dried cranberries, apricots and golden rasins. For the dressing I doubled the orange juice and omitted the honey. This makes a wonderful salad to serve with cold chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
I thought the balsamic vinegar overpowered the orange and the honey. It tasted more like balsamic vinegar rice and plain spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States