Orange Vinaigrette Brown Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
Very yummy! I reduced the onions and put half in to marinate; next time I will put all, 2 tablespoons, and leave out the spinach. Kind of messy and superfluous. Great citrus taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RUBES1
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
I don't know how the original recipe would have come out, but w/ the way mine came out, I'd give it 5-stars! I made some minor adjustments: 1)I added in a clove of garlic as another reviewer recommended- it was strong at 1st, but great the next day, just right. 2)Secondly, after tasting the salad, I felt it was too "vinegary," (like another reviewer found it to be), so I added in another tbsp or 2 of oil & some more OJ (about 2-3 tbsps). An alternative would be to cut back on the vinegar to begin w/, to about 1/2 the amount. 3)The recipe says to stir in the spinach, onion & oranges right before serving, but the next day, after having sat in the dressing, the salad tasted sensational- MUCH better! The 1st day I would have given it 3-4 stars, but the second day I'd give it 5! The spinach leaves & rice really soak up the flavor. This is definitely a salad that's better to make the night before serving. I also added in some diced cooked chicken breast I had leftover from the night before & made it into a whole meal. That was delicious! I've submitted a photo of this recipe. Hope they approve it & post it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUBES1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2004
For added zip, to the orange juice mixture, add on clove minced fresh garlic. Works very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2004
To mush Orange .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
I MADE THIS SALAD FOR A LADIES LUNCHEON AND IT RECIEVED RAVE REVIEWS. I COOKED THE RICE IN SWANSON'S VEGETABLE BROTH AND ADDED DRIED CRANBERRIES FOR COLOR. WOULD MAKE THIS AGAIN IT IS A WINNER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2003
I varied the actual salad quite a bit so I can't comment on that, but this dressing is AMAZING. Seriously, it is one of the most delicious concoctions I've seen in a while! Thank you so much, I will use this as a salad dressing and a marinade. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
I thought the balsamic vinegar overpowered the orange and the honey. It tasted more like balsamic vinegar rice and plain spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
Looks pretty and tastes great! What more could you ask for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
Way too much rice for the rest of the ingredients. But rice was good and the left over portion will make another salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOXHUNTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
Based on a couple of reviews that said this dish was bland, I made some modifications and the dish was delicious. I toasted some slivered almonds and added about 1 1/2 tsp. of Mrs. Dash seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Salmon & Asparagus en Papillote with Brown Rice

Enjoy a complete, healthy-choice meal with baked salmon and brown rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States