Orange Vegetables Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Melody
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
To cut down on the prep time, I chose to chop up the squash & pumpkin in large pieces & steam/boil until tender (approx. 15 mins). run under cold water until the pieces can be handled - scoop flesh out as instructed in step 4. (I also find that roasting veg rather than steaming gives the soup an odd after taste, so I avoid it whenever possible.) I didn't have any celery, but the soup tasted fine without it and I added 1/2 cup rather than 1/4 cup of orange juice to mellow the taste a bit. The end result was lovely & this recipe will definately be used again - a great autumn/winter soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Our family loved this soup. I used canned pumpkin instead of fresh--about 3/4 of a can and 5 cups of vegetable broth instead of the cubes and water. It was full of flavor and great with fresh bread. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This recipe is a winner. I made it exactly as directed and it was enjoyed by everyone who tried it. The spices are not strong, but add a pleasing flavour and the combination of vegetables is healthy and tasty. I served it with Nutty Rosemary bread from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by adri782
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Very good and very healthy! Great autumn/winter recipe to make - and cheap, too! Makes you feel good. I recommend using a vegetable peeler on the pumpkin, squash, and sweet potato, and chopping these all up before putting in the pan with water to cook. I think it's easier, and faster, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adri782

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Momi
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Thanks OLENAJOY for the A+ vitamin A recipe! It is very delicious and smelled so good cooking. It was quite satisfactory before pureeing (almost beef stewish) and without the milk and oj. I used canned pumpkin (the whole can) rather than fresh. I used salt-free boullion, and added a tsp of salt; instead of adding more salt, I tried Chipotle Tabasco in my bowl, and it added an other dimension to the soup. By the way, my soup was orange-brown, not neon yellow like other pictures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
Very healthy and tasty soup! And I even had to make a number of substitions because I didn't have all the ingredients. It makes a lot and freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I followed this recipe completely except for including the celery and it was very poorly recieved by myself and family. It is VERY mild in flavor. I thought that it would be more robust... If you are looking for something good and simple this is not the recipe for you. Try some gourd soup somewhere before committing 2-3 hrs of cooking into something that you may not like. If you are looking for something different to expirement with- this is just the recipe for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This soup is so incredibly healthy that I am going to give it four stars. Unfortunately, the taste is nothing spectacular...no one except for my mom and I would even try it, and my mom didn't care for it. Let's just say that this is not a pretty soup! It is sort of brown and chunky, not exactly appetizing. I liked the texture, as well as the flavor, but didn't think it was good enough to make again. The only change I made was to use fat-free evaporated milk, and I used frozen orange juice concentrate instead of fresh orange juice. I sprinkled bacon on my serving, and that made it taste better. Altogether, this soup is okay, but so healthy that I will keep eating it! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I gave it a four star becuase it was lacking in flavor. I added some cream of zucchini soup to it wich made it yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meadow Brady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alma, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
This was a very good recipe. My husband is not a fan of the orange vegetables and even he liked this soup. Very healthy which is a plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Mundelein, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States