Orange Turkey Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This is a very forgiving recipe. It allows for a slight(and I mean slight) citrus taste but what it really does is help to keep the bird nice a moist while cooking. I made it once and all I had was pink lemonade concentrate and my family loved it(my husband is a chef mind you) So go ahead and brine!!!!! It makes meat that can tend to be dry much, much juicier. Enjoy and play with the flavors...any kind of juice is nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
oh my gosh....this brine smells so incredibly good, I can hardly wait to put my turkey in it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barbbutler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
OMG! YOU HAVE TO BRINE UR TURKEY! I brine all of my turkey, chicken and cornish game hens. This recipe is wonderful! Roll the oranges, lemons & limes on the counter to release the oils before you put them in the brine! I will be brining 6 game hens this Friday and this is my go to recipe! LOVE IT! Better than Alton Brown's in my opinion...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I used this recipe, let it stand 24 hours than I smoked it using a trash can, using nothing but oak wood. the best ever! I have tryed this before and used char and it tasted like char, you have to use oak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I have shared this recipe several times. Quick hint: When cooking the brine use half the water and the rest with ice to speed up the process. I give a quick rinse
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This was the first time I ever brined or roasted a turkey. The breast was incredibly moist. It was my favorite! Restaurant supply stores were closed when I was ready to brine so I bought a 5 gallon container with a lid at Home Depot (versus a food grade container), a brine bag & a bag of ice. I separated the brine bag from the container with ice, as much as possible and refilled it only once before going to bed since it was a cool night. I used Alton Brown (Food Network) shorter brining times (8-16 hours) and easy cooking methods. Inserting a thermometer is key for newbies like me! The brining liquid took about 3 hours to cool down so I will make it earlier next time. I was scared of a moist but flavorless turkey, so I massaged the turkey (under the skin) with a paste of garlic, oregano & a little canola oil right before roasting. It turned out great. I will make it on Thanksgiving. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SweetBasil
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Very nice and easy brine for our smoked turkey. Couldn't taste the fruit, but our meat was so juicy and flavorful. I added lots of fresh rosemary, and some cajun seasoning. Will try using apple juice next time, and a cup of brown sugar as that's how I usually do our brine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This Turkey Brine was sooo good! My turkey was so flavorful and juicy it was the best I've made yet. I added 32oz of chicken broth and a few sprigs of thyme, rosemary and sage and it gave it that much more flavor...I will definitley use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
This year I'm making this brine AGAIN. Last year my turkey came out nice and moist and it was the best turkey I've ever had ever. The only thing I changed was used 1 can of frozen lemonaid. My whole family raved about how this was the best turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aspen3

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I used this recipe for my Thanksgiving Turkey and was stunned at how moist and tender the breast was! Wife and I loved the hint of citrus and the turkey the ease of the whole process. I will brine every chicken or turkey from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Foresthill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Orange Cumin Vinaigrette

A simple salad dressing seasoned with Dijon, orange zest, and cumin.

Cranberry Orange Relish with Orange Liqueur

This tart, sweet relish needs no cooking, and the liqueur packs a subtle punch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States