Orange Turkey Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This made the BEST turkey I or my Chef have ever had. I tweeked it a touch because I didn't use fresh fruit, I used juice and swapped the thyme for coriander. I let it thaw, in the brine, neck up with the OJ concentrate thawing on the open cavity for 5 days. Unbelieveable. Thank you to whomever came up with this idea. I am now queen of turkey around here and it was so easy I think I'll hang on to that title for a good long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
We made this last year and brined if for nearly 3 days, it was the best turkey ever! :) we followed it with this recipe http://allrecipes.com/recipe/juicy-thanksgiving-turkey/detail.aspx?src=ShareOnFacebook&recipeID=166160
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I used a Willie free range bird with organic citrus fruits and herbs. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JQT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson Hole, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Sooo yummy! I did tweak it a little bit, i added some rosemary and some honey too and it was amazing! My boyfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
This year I'm making this brine AGAIN. Last year my turkey came out nice and moist and it was the best turkey I've ever had ever. The only thing I changed was used 1 can of frozen lemonaid. My whole family raved about how this was the best turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aspen3

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I used this recipe, let it stand 24 hours than I smoked it using a trash can, using nothing but oak wood. the best ever! I have tryed this before and used char and it tasted like char, you have to use oak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
OMG! YOU HAVE TO BRINE UR TURKEY! I brine all of my turkey, chicken and cornish game hens. This recipe is wonderful! Roll the oranges, lemons & limes on the counter to release the oils before you put them in the brine! I will be brining 6 game hens this Friday and this is my go to recipe! LOVE IT! Better than Alton Brown's in my opinion...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Photo by SweetBasil
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Very nice and easy brine for our smoked turkey. Couldn't taste the fruit, but our meat was so juicy and flavorful. I added lots of fresh rosemary, and some cajun seasoning. Will try using apple juice next time, and a cup of brown sugar as that's how I usually do our brine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I have shared this recipe several times. Quick hint: When cooking the brine use half the water and the rest with ice to speed up the process. I give a quick rinse
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I used this recipe for my Thanksgiving Turkey and was stunned at how moist and tender the breast was! Wife and I loved the hint of citrus and the turkey the ease of the whole process. I will brine every chicken or turkey from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Foresthill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Orange Cumin Vinaigrette

A simple salad dressing seasoned with Dijon, orange zest, and cumin.

Cranberry Orange Relish with Orange Liqueur

This tart, sweet relish needs no cooking, and the liqueur packs a subtle punch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States