Orange Turkey Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
everybody loves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This is an amazing brine. I have used it years past and it never fails. I doubled the ingredients for a 24 lb turkey. I will make a note on the citrus. If you boil the citrus with the other spices at the same time, some of the volatile (read flavorful) oils may deteriorate and become bitter. I add the citrus after boiling the other ingredients while the solution is still quite warm in order to bring the flavors together. I brine the turkey for about 18 hours. There is a very delicate citrus flavor to the bird that does not overwhelm. Be cautious about overcooking. Brining really does shorten the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I have done this turkey brine every year for the past 4 years! It is the BEST! Turkey comes out so juicy and love the beautiful orange tinted color it gives! Thank you to whomever shared this recipe! Everyone that has been over to our turkey dinners has just raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This brine is by far the best I've ever used! I used it for a chicken instead of turkey and the results were great. I stuffed the chicken with onion and orange wedges, rubbed it with a generous amount of butter, and squeezed orange juice over the chicken a few times while roasting. It ended up with just the right amount of citrus flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Best turkey ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KPinck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This made the BEST turkey I or my Chef have ever had. I tweeked it a touch because I didn't use fresh fruit, I used juice and swapped the thyme for coriander. I let it thaw, in the brine, neck up with the OJ concentrate thawing on the open cavity for 5 days. Unbelieveable. Thank you to whomever came up with this idea. I am now queen of turkey around here and it was so easy I think I'll hang on to that title for a good long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
We made this last year and brined if for nearly 3 days, it was the best turkey ever! :) we followed it with this recipe http://allrecipes.com/recipe/juicy-thanksgiving-turkey/detail.aspx?src=ShareOnFacebook&recipeID=166160
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I used a Willie free range bird with organic citrus fruits and herbs. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JQT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson Hole, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Sooo yummy! I did tweak it a little bit, i added some rosemary and some honey too and it was amazing! My boyfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
This year I'm making this brine AGAIN. Last year my turkey came out nice and moist and it was the best turkey I've ever had ever. The only thing I changed was used 1 can of frozen lemonaid. My whole family raved about how this was the best turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aspen3

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Orange Cumin Vinaigrette

A simple salad dressing seasoned with Dijon, orange zest, and cumin.

Cranberry Orange Relish with Orange Liqueur

This tart, sweet relish needs no cooking, and the liqueur packs a subtle punch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States