Orange Sunshine Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
My family all make this recipe but when finished we pop it in the freezer for a bit to let it get slightly chilled (not frozen but more than you would get from the fridge) and it makes it much better. It also makes it easier if you have to transport if you make a layer cake. You can't beat this cake! YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
I think it's wonderful. My family loves citrusy cakes and cookies. This is so very easy. I wonder if new-cooks might need to know to use picks to hold the layers together. The frosting - I took a rounded table spoon of crushed pineapple, drained it real well before adding to the frosting mixture. I also creamed a small container of cream cheese and mixed it with the cool whip until it was the consistency I wanted. I wanted it to be a very pale orange/peach color so added just and drop of food coloring. Sprinkle a few toasted slivered almonds on top. Stick a nice big flower on top. I always wrap the stem in foil or use a thin bud vase. I'm sure there is a proper name for them, but bud vase is all I know. You can decorate it however you want or not at all. I love small fresh flowers at the base. It is a heavenly creation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Not impressed. I had high hopes for this cake, since my mother raved about it when it was served to her by a friend; but I did not think it was that good. As another reviewer said, I also found the frosting a little gritty, and the cake itself was a little gummy. I don't know if this was a result of the oranges or the pudding, but I did not care for this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I can't speak personally as I didn't get to eat any. It was wolfed down in minutes at a 4th of July cookout! Almost followed the recipe completely, but I accidentally got the 8oz container of Cool Whip. I was afraid I didn't have enough icing for 3 layers, but it worked wonderfully and wasn't too sweet! I will say the instructions aren't very clear when making the frosting. I learned the hard way. Don't make the pudding to fold into the whipped topping & pineapple. Just fold in the pudding mix. I had to end up with 1 batch of liquid icing to figure that out :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
awsome cake-very moist made some changes, not a fan of orange. i used french vanilla cake mix and banana pudding for cake and wipped topping with vanilla pudding with banana slices on top. and used vanilla extract instead of orange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blenheim, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Wheatley, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Made this for a church function and got a lot of compliments. It is so easy to make and was absolutlely delish! The only thing I did different was to use Duncan Hines Orange Supreme Cake Mix. It came out perfect! Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I made the recipe for this cake with the icing from another recipe. The cake is DELICIOUS! I love cakes that start with a boxed mix and have yummy ingredients added to give it some spunk. :) The icing I made is similar to this recipe, but it has cream cheese and powdered sugar added to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This cake had excellent flavor, but was a bit heavier than what I was looking for. It's more like a pound cake. The frosting was very tasty, but I added about 3oz of cream cheese to give it alittle substance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oakdale, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Best cake ever made! Perfect for any summer event, party, or whenever. So easy to make. Big winner at church potucks. =)Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Godfollower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Story City, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
This cake recipe (not the frosting) was used in some of the layers of my daughter's wedding cake last weekend. It was so moist and wonderful. There were several compliments on this cake. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States