Orange Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Loved this recipe. I always taste the dough when making cookies to make sure I like the flavor. The taste wasn't quite as strong enough for me so I added extra orange peel and added some orange extract. The flavor really popped and was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Big Bear City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
if i could i would give this zero stars...theses cookies are gross!! if i wanted something that tasted like biscuits i'd have made biscuits. no flavor and a complete waste of my time, money, and ingredients!!! i will not be making these ever again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moxie & mirth
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Delicious! Light, fluffy, airy with a hint of orange flavor. It's a quite lovely little cookie. Wanting a stronger flavor for some of them I also used the the Orange Cream Cheese Frosting from this site which was fantastic. My changes: I used butter flavored shortening (that's all I had) and I after reading other reviews I doubled the orange zest as well. My batch also made a little over 6 dozen. I did scooped them with a cookie scoop right out of the bowl - no refrigerating, no rolling, no cutters. I'm not a "pretty cookie" maker. Also, please remember this is NOT a super-sweet cookie. Not all cookies should cause cavities. This one is a little different, a little special, and very very easy. That's 5 stars in my book. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
very good!!! I did double the zest called for but thats what my orange had on it, lol. I did not refrigerate overnight simply because I did not plan on rolling them out. I used a scoop and they maintained the same shape in and out of the oven. They do not spread, do not puff, and taste great!!!!!!! Thx for the recipe =))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I cooked this recipe for 9:30 and turned out pretty good. I added 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg, 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves, 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon, and while stirring the mix i added a little more orange juice and a tad bit of milk and it turned out pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
These cookies are totally lacking in flavor. I followed the recipe to the letter and ended up with bland and bread like results. I covered them in sugar and cinnamon to try to rescue them but ended up throwing them all in the garbage in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
the flavor of the dough was good but it was INCREDIBLY soft and impossible to use for cut out cookies. the cookies bake up to nearly twice the size of the dough. it was VERY frustrating to try and make cut out cookies with this dough. i even stuck the dough in the freezer as a last resort with no different results. i recommend using another recipe if you're looking to make cut out cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Although I received several compliments for these at a cookie exchange, I felt they were very bland. :( They puffed up alot with baking and were very airy, even after the dough was rolled out to 1/4 inch thickness. Next time I will double the orange zest, maybe substitute half of the shortening for butter, and roll out the dough as thin as possible! Icing was definitely a good addition to these. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
These cookies came out to a cake-like texture. The orange taste was nice and subtle. Like others said, the cookies were not sweet enough on their own to be considered cookies (maybe biscuits), so I added an orange cream cheese icing (from this site) and it brought out the orange flavor with a bit of extra sweetness it needed. They did, however, stay fresh for about 6 days in sealed tupperware.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcmeg12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Great recipe over all... The dough was a bit dry and crumbly when I went to roll it out after resting in the fridge all night, but after moistening it a bit with damp hands it was fine. Great cookies! And the Orange Cream Cheese Frosting from this site is perfect with them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glittergirl94

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Franklin, New Hampshire, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States