Orange Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This sponge cake is a hit at our home.....everyone loves it .....a simple recipe, I added 1/4 cup of OJ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dodi

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I have not made this cake yet, but from what I can tell, it's a good one. For those of you complaining about it being too dry, ITS A SPONGE CAKE! Sponge cakes are supposed to be dry, that's why they're called sponge cakes. If you wanted something moist, maybe you should make a regular cake. But above all else, do NOT add oils and fats to a sponge cake, it will not rise properly. Also, don't grease the cake pan, if you do, it will become dense after coming out of the oven. If you're not sure if you can trust me, I'm a patisserie and baking student at the Le Cordon Bleu College of Culinary Arts. So, unlike those people that were complaining about the cake being too dry, I actually know what I'm talking about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Yes, added 2 Tab. more of OJ and Used a Chocolate Drizzle. MMM..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PREDESTOGO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windber, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
This is a very easy cake to cook. Quite large. Beautiful cake to eat. I use an orange icing which consists of icing sugar, orange juice and orange zest. They go really well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
Perfect - a really straightforward recipe that produces a delicious cake. I have made it twice now and added 2 T of a chunky homemade marmalade for even more flavour (I also reduce the sugar slightly to just under 1 cup to compensate for the extra sweetness of the jam). I like to slice it in half and spread it with whipped cream that has had 100g of melted dark chocolate whipped into it. I then ice it with a dark drizzly chocolate icing. You could also spoon a little Grand Marnier onto the bottom layer before you put the cream on. This was my solution to a request for a Chocolate/Orange birthday cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
This is an easy to make cake and it tastes just great! I have made it three times so far - so I guess that says something for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Art Kautz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
Delicious! I whipped up this cake in no time yesterday. I served it today, and it was still super soft and yummy. I double-wrapped it in plastic wrap because sponge cakes can dry out easily. I used the zest and juice of one medium California naval orange. I used a square baking pan instead of a round one. It smelled awesome coming out of the oven! I didn't think it tasted very orange-y, but my family members thought it was perfect. I might add more zest next time. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
Well, the 1st time I made this, I wasn't too crazy about it. Now, after making it a few times, I've perfected the recipe and made it even healthier! First, you can half the amount of sugar and make it just as delicious. Then, I double the orange zest, add 2 tbsp. of lemon zest, fresh lemon juice, 1 tsp. of honey, and extra orange juice. After it's done baking, I like to serve it with some fat free ice cream. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
This was delicious, quick and just perfect. I made 2/3rd of the quantity in the recipe and it was just right for 12 cupcakes. I only baked it for 43 minutes at 325 F
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Absolutely Fantastic. This was my first attempt to bake a cake and I was amazed at how moist, light and tasty this recipe was. The result was identical to a very well known pre-mixed brand. Excellent !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States