Orange Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
The key to a light and fluffy sponge cake is to make sure to gently fold the egg whites that have been stiffly beaten into the rest of the batter. The only things I whip together are the eggs, sugar, zest and oj. I then stir in the flour/baking powder and then gently fold in the whites. You should also NEVER grease the pan with a sponge cake and allow it to cool upsidedown for 1 1/2 - 2 hours in the pan before removing. Works very well in a tube pan-this particular recipe may need to be doubled for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
This is a very easy cake to cook. Quite large. Beautiful cake to eat. I use an orange icing which consists of icing sugar, orange juice and orange zest. They go really well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
Well, the 1st time I made this, I wasn't too crazy about it. Now, after making it a few times, I've perfected the recipe and made it even healthier! First, you can half the amount of sugar and make it just as delicious. Then, I double the orange zest, add 2 tbsp. of lemon zest, fresh lemon juice, 1 tsp. of honey, and extra orange juice. After it's done baking, I like to serve it with some fat free ice cream. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I have not made this cake yet, but from what I can tell, it's a good one. For those of you complaining about it being too dry, ITS A SPONGE CAKE! Sponge cakes are supposed to be dry, that's why they're called sponge cakes. If you wanted something moist, maybe you should make a regular cake. But above all else, do NOT add oils and fats to a sponge cake, it will not rise properly. Also, don't grease the cake pan, if you do, it will become dense after coming out of the oven. If you're not sure if you can trust me, I'm a patisserie and baking student at the Le Cordon Bleu College of Culinary Arts. So, unlike those people that were complaining about the cake being too dry, I actually know what I'm talking about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
All the reviews were so good but i don't know why mine turn not not light and spongy enough. When i pour the flour into the egg yolk mixture, the batter was very thick, like a dough. I wonder is it because the eggs need to be very large? Can anyone offer me some advice? I think more eggs should be added. Overall, the taste was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
A very light cake full of flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
Delicious! I whipped up this cake in no time yesterday. I served it today, and it was still super soft and yummy. I double-wrapped it in plastic wrap because sponge cakes can dry out easily. I used the zest and juice of one medium California naval orange. I used a square baking pan instead of a round one. It smelled awesome coming out of the oven! I didn't think it tasted very orange-y, but my family members thought it was perfect. I might add more zest next time. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
This was an excellent sponge cake recipe. Easy to make. The results were what was also very important though. Delicious, with a perfect flavor and texture. Cake did not want to budge from pan though so be sure to grease/flour really well! Is equally delicious with vanilla used as a flavoring instead of orange zest. I used this recipe (with vanilla instead of orange) for a ice cream cake for 4th of July and the results were delicious! I spread layers of vanilla ice cream and blueberry and strawberry sorbet. Then I froze. Then before serving I topped with whipped cream and bluberries and strawberries in a sort of flag shape. Worked very well. FYI sponge cakes work better for ice cream cake because the lack of butter (which I usually looove!) keeps the cake from becoming too hard in the freezer. I great all around sponge cake recipe. A keeper. :) Note 4 stars just because I'm SUPER! picky about 5 stars! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
Perfect - a really straightforward recipe that produces a delicious cake. I have made it twice now and added 2 T of a chunky homemade marmalade for even more flavour (I also reduce the sugar slightly to just under 1 cup to compensate for the extra sweetness of the jam). I like to slice it in half and spread it with whipped cream that has had 100g of melted dark chocolate whipped into it. I then ice it with a dark drizzly chocolate icing. You could also spoon a little Grand Marnier onto the bottom layer before you put the cream on. This was my solution to a request for a Chocolate/Orange birthday cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jill
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
I was a bit disappointed by this recipe. Eating the remains of the batter in the bowl, I was pleased and looked forward to a delicious cake. I doubled the recipe so I would have a layer cake. At 40 minutes, it look more than done but since it said 50-60 minutes I left it in until 50 when I decided that it could not stay in any longer. They seemed dry when I pulled them out, so I frosted the top, put fresh orange slices on, and as one previous critic had mentioned, created a drizzle and put that on. It was good, but definitely could have been removed from the oven at 40 minutes. It was yummy with the frosting, drizzle, and fresh orange slices. Wasn't bad for low fat. Thanks Jackie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States