Orange Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by eternal.happiness
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Very good, although I should have cooked it for about 40 minutes in comparison to what the recipe mentioned. Overall, the taste was amazing after adding the icing. The sweetness balanced out with the texture and taste of the cake, my boyfriend absolutely loved it; I would make it again, although I would call it more of a cake versus a "sponge cake".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eternal.happiness

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
This cake was extremely dry, the flavor overall was good but I think some oil or butter could have been added for moisture. I'd like to make it again with some kind of oil or butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I`m really disappointed with this recipe. i made it with lots of excitement, but the dough turned out to be very dry, i had to add water. unfortunately the cake turned out to be chewy, you could even tell from the taste that something was wrong. the cake didn`t rise that much too an dthe outcome was not attractive at all. i would appreacite any tips coz i would like to try it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
The key to a light and fluffy sponge cake is to make sure to gently fold the egg whites that have been stiffly beaten into the rest of the batter. The only things I whip together are the eggs, sugar, zest and oj. I then stir in the flour/baking powder and then gently fold in the whites. You should also NEVER grease the pan with a sponge cake and allow it to cool upsidedown for 1 1/2 - 2 hours in the pan before removing. Works very well in a tube pan-this particular recipe may need to be doubled for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I reduced the sugar by a third, added a tbsp dollop of orange marmalade. Used the juice of one medium orange, and a thick slice of orange skin. The flavour was great! But like a few of the previous posters, my cake turned out chewy, not light and fluffy like I had expected. Can any one tell me what I did wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dorothylim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
This sponge cake was pretty good. I took the cake after baking it for 40 minutes only and turned out great (it wasn't dry). I will try adding some vanilla extract next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
Loved the flavour. Not sure if I did something wrong, but the cake turned out chewy and had a crust all round. Maybe it was the temperature? Cooking time? Overbeating the egg whites? I'll definitely try this again to figure out what went wrong. Otherwise, I still love the taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
Well, the 1st time I made this, I wasn't too crazy about it. Now, after making it a few times, I've perfected the recipe and made it even healthier! First, you can half the amount of sugar and make it just as delicious. Then, I double the orange zest, add 2 tbsp. of lemon zest, fresh lemon juice, 1 tsp. of honey, and extra orange juice. After it's done baking, I like to serve it with some fat free ice cream. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
I used the rind and juice of a whole orange for a more orangey taste. Cake turned out nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
A little dry and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States