Orange Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Tasted very nice . Although , while adding the flour and orange juice , Was the batter supposed to turn like dough ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I have not made this cake yet, but from what I can tell, it's a good one. For those of you complaining about it being too dry, ITS A SPONGE CAKE! Sponge cakes are supposed to be dry, that's why they're called sponge cakes. If you wanted something moist, maybe you should make a regular cake. But above all else, do NOT add oils and fats to a sponge cake, it will not rise properly. Also, don't grease the cake pan, if you do, it will become dense after coming out of the oven. If you're not sure if you can trust me, I'm a patisserie and baking student at the Le Cordon Bleu College of Culinary Arts. So, unlike those people that were complaining about the cake being too dry, I actually know what I'm talking about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This sponge cake is a hit at our home.....everyone loves it .....a simple recipe, I added 1/4 cup of OJ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dodi

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
this was a good recipe. i used a glaze made with orange juice and powdered sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Yes, added 2 Tab. more of OJ and Used a Chocolate Drizzle. MMM..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PREDESTOGO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windber, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
After being hesistant to try this recipe, I gave it a shot. Batter seemed heavy at first but seems to have lightened up upon addition of egg whites. However, I did have to add about 1-2 tbsp extra OJ to thin out the batter a lil. Cake smells wonderful and since it is a birthday cake I'll not know its texture or heaviness until it is cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mich_Mich

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
I can see why this is a 4 star recipe. Mine came out dense, which may have been my fault. It was done after 25 min in a bundt pan, I was paranoid and left it in for 35. Made it more dry. Over all it was tasty, definitely needs a glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I have not made many sponge cakes before, so not sure if this is due to a lack of experience. My sponge cake turned out pretty hard... otherwise taste-wise is fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
I followed this recipe to a "T". I pulled it out at 40 mins. as one of the other people had mentioned that it looked done at 40. I let it cool and put on the topping(coolwhip mixed with oranges that had been peeled and torn apart). The cake itself is very dry. Kind of a cornbread type texture. The topping I added made it not too bad. Maybe putting it in there for only 30-35 mins. would help out. Not a bad recipe, just the amount of time left in the oven needs to be adjusted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
IT WAS NOT MOIST AT ALL AND MY HUSBAND AND KIDS HATED IT. WE DIDN'T EVEN EAT IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States