Orange Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Tried it the first time. Added one tbsp of lime juice and double the amount of orange zest. I also mixed in orange wedges of two oranges. It smells so sweet and citrusy while baking. I leave to cool and when eaten, theres suprise pops of sour and sweet from the wedges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
This is an excellent recipe. I doubled everything except the sugar and baked it in a tube pan. The second time I made it I didn't have the orange zest, which gave it a milder orange flavor, was superb. I'm always looking for low fat, low cal desserts and this one is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Absolutely Fantastic. This was my first attempt to bake a cake and I was amazed at how moist, light and tasty this recipe was. The result was identical to a very well known pre-mixed brand. Excellent !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I doubled this recipe to make a two tier cake. It made one 10" and one 7" cakes. The cakes came out nice and spongy, BUT I had to add more orange juice to the batter to make it workable. First I added as much orange juice as the recipe calls for. The batter came out as a stiff dough to which much of the flour could not be incorporated. So I added more orange juice, and then even more orange juice. I think I used 4 times more orange juice than what the recipe calls for. That's why I am giving this 4 stars. Everything else was perfect. I used rind of two large oranges but next time I will double this. This cake is much better than the pound cake that I used to make before. It is lighter and nicer for layered cakes. I cut both cakes into layers and filled them with whipped cream, chopped bananas, chopped pineapples and chopped walnuts. The guests loved the cake and everyone asked for more. So from now on I will use this recipe in the place of the pound cakes or simple vanilla flavoured sponge cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Was a bit dry and needed something, maybe lots of frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Good base for cake. I was concerned of the bottom of my pan and placed parchment paper on it. I was glad because it appeared that 50 minutes may have burned the cake. I flipped it upside down and punched holes throughout the cake and glazed it with a orange glaze frosting. That seemed to be the taste it was going for. It moistens the cake throughout. Making the cake was a bit more than I expected to do and I realize it is hard to write a recipe out. However, before starting this cake, you may want to sort out the directions. It does get a bit confusing. Overall, my family loves it. Don't wait 50 minutes! Check on it long before that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
added extra juice with the flour so the mixture did not turn to in dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
This was delicious, quick and just perfect. I made 2/3rd of the quantity in the recipe and it was just right for 12 cupcakes. I only baked it for 43 minutes at 325 F
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
flavorless ! have to find another recipe :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
It had nice flavor :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States