Orange Spiced Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
I have to agree with another member that the amts for the orange juice and soy sauce was switched. Next time I will use 1/2 cup orange juice and 1/4 cup soy sauce. I love soy sauce, so even this first time wasn't bad. I enjoyed the raisins in the marinade too! I served this with rice and chinese veggies. Very good and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
I have a question, are the amounts for the OJ and the soy sauce backwards, by any chance? The intro. says that it's supposed to be,"A classic, traditional orange flavored chicken dish with a kick!" but the predominate taste is the soy sauce. IF, I make it again, I'm going to switch the amounts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
very tasty! the man loved it! if you don't like ginger, though, than this recipe is not for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
Way too salty tasting. Won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sidney, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
Pretty good. I took some posted suggestions and added 3/4 cup juice and 1/4 cup soy sauce and subst. honey for sugar. I also added 1/4 tsp of chili powder. It could have used 1/2 tsp chili powder. Instead of plain OJ, I used pineapple orange juice. Yummy! It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2003
I suggest sticking pretty close to the original recipe, unless you like a strong orange taste and after taste to your chicken. I increased the orange juice to 1 cup and decreased soy sauce to 1/4 cup like some people suggest and left out the raisens. it just tasted like orange juice with a strong after taste. I poured out the sauce after baking and then sauted the chicken in a little olive oil and soy sauce. the taste was much better and the after taste not so bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
Definitly too soy, I'd use less and LOW SODIUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2003
It was pretty good.. Not that spicey though.. I added a pinch or two of crushed red pepper flakes, but nothing.. I onl used 1/2 a cup of soy sauce, and a 1/2 a cup of orange juice, but it still seemed like more soy sauce than orange.. But it was really really yummy..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
I ended up using 1 1/2 cups of OJ and 1/3 cup of soy sauce. I originally had only used about a half cup of OJ, and all I could taste was the soy sauce. I also added a few cloves while it was baking. Next time I'll probably add only 1/4 cup of soy sauce. It is a good recipe. I guess I just like mine more orangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
i omitted the raisins, used 3/4 cup OJ, 2tbspn soy sauce, added 1 hot pepper(add up to 2, adjust taste for spicy food) replaced honey with sugar, julianned carrots and put them in with the marinade and chicken in oven. Marinaded for 5 hours plus....mmmmmm mmmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Chris' Grilled Orange Chicken

This citrus marinade makes chicken moist and tender on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States