Orange Spiced Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kelly
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Very good! I did what it seems everyone else did, swap the measurements for soy sauce and orange juice. I also substituted honey for the sugar and used dried minced garlic. I increased the ginger to about 1 teaspoon and used currants instead of raisins. Instead of baking the chicken in the marinade, I baked it on a rack at 400* for about 25 minutes. I made a slurry of cornstarch and orange juice, added it to the marinade in a saucepan and boiled until thick. The chicken came out with the skinless surface a little "tight" looking, but the meat was tender and very juicy. The sauce poured over the meat was excellent. I served with steamed basmati rice (which went very well with the sauce) and the last of the fresh summer corn on the cob. Will definitely make again...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
This recipe was fantastic! Although I made a few adjustments. I increased the orange juice to 3/4 cup because we like a lot of sauce in our dishes. I added 1 garlic clove. I increased the ginger to 1 tsp. I increased the raisins to a couple of handfuls and I added the same amount of diced apricots. It was amazing and my hubby loved it! I will make this again and again. Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natacha Pellerin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Just ok. I followed other reviews and swapped the oj and soy sauce measurments. I ended with a sauce that was too thin to spoon over the chicken. It was really salty a well. I wont attempt this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennM

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Corona, California, USA
Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
5 stars, conditional on switching the measurements for the soy and OJ. I even added a bit more OJ. Used honey instead of sugar, and upped the amt of garlic and ginger. Used BONE-IN CHICKEN-- which I do believe makes a difference. Let it marinade for about 2 hours, and then cooked in slow cooker on high for 4 hours, low for 2 more. It was truly scrumptious! served with a side of rice. Happily eating the leftovers for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loves2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I loved this simple chicken recipe. I marinated the chicken for four hours and there was just the right amount of flavor. I took the suggestion from another reviewer and switched the amounts of orange juice and soy sauce. We then grilled it insted of baking and it turned out beautifully. Thank you for the wonderful recipe. I will surely make this chicken again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Burlington, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
We really enjoyed this chicken. It is truly delish. Like many of the other reviewers I used 1/4 cup of soy sauce and 1/2 cup of orange juice. It was very yummy!! Also, I butterflied the chicken which resulted in a little longer prep time but a much shorter cooking time (about 20 minutes). Thanks for posting Amanda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
soy sauce flavor was WAY too much.. it needed more orange flavor... it was moist, however, probably won't make it again.. sorry..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I took the advise of others and switched the orange juice and soy sauce amounts around and added 1/8 teaspoon of chili spice. My husband thought it was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This dish did not end up tasting how I hoped it would. It really tasted more like orange juice than the orange-soy-ginger-garlic flavour I anticipated, similar to a take-out dish. I will likely try this recipe again and add more ginger than I did(I used less than the recipe called for). But so far, not as impressed with the taste as I had hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
good with much more OJ and much less soy sauce. Also added some red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States