Orange Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
This is good but it lacks the egg white that is used in the original Orange Julius recipe. It was made with 1 l/4 cup of orange juice instead of frozen), 1 cup of water, all the rest of the ingredients were the same except that you added one egg white when you are ready to blend it. That is what gives it the froth! I'm sure there really isn't much difference if you use orange juice or frozen but adding the egg white really adds to the appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
Great smoothie! I added heavy cream, which gave it an awesome creamy texture. After tasting how it turned out (so I knew if I'd make it plain) I added peach schnapps. The schnapps overpowered the vanilla taste (I LOVED the vanilla taste) but tasted very good. I'll be making this again! I also tried freezing my OJ in an ice cube tray - makes for an excellent smoothie texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LRIGREM

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
These are really delicious and truly an eye opener in the morning. They're almost like the orange julius drinks you used to get in the mall. (Do those things even still exist?) Next time I may add some vanilla ice cream to thicken it up. I too added vanilla extract to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
The vanilla and orange is an unexpected surprise. This is so delicious. I reduce the sugar to 1/4 cup for the grandkids. For me, I add 1T wheat germ and 1T brewers yeast to jump start me in the mornings.Thanks for starting our days off right, Trudy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
This is a fantastic reciepe. My husband loves orange juice, but typically can not drink it because of the amount of acid it has in it. But this reciepe somehow dilutes the acidity, and he can drink it just fine without it giving him any stomach problems. I love it too, tastes great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
VERY similar to "orange glorious" also found on this site but it is tasty just as it is. I ended up make two batches this morning...both excellent! In the second "batch," I added a few frozen strawberries and another tsp of vanilla. Also makes for a great after-school snack for kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
Yum! This was great. I love how it was a bit fluffy, and very light. I used skim milk so this thing was totally guilt-free. Delicious. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
I thought this was fairly average. I liked the frothy texture, but taste was average. It's not a recipie I would use regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
This is delicious! No fancy ingredients and so it's a no brainer. It tastes like an orange Julius but a little runnier. I'll definately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
Very tasty, I added some frozen strawberries and instead of water I used pineapple juice and a bit more sugar. Big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

B and L's Strawberry Smoothie

Fresh berries, skim milk, plain yogurt, and vanilla make a 5-star smoothie.

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Groovy Green Smoothie

Sneak some fresh greens into your kids with this tasty smoothie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States