Orange Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Great base for an orange smoothie! I made a few minor changes to suit our tastes. I prefer a smooth smoothie so we left out the ice. Also left out the sugar since my healthy husband was sharing this with me. I will make this again! **Update ** I also started to make this using organic vanilla almond milk and it is super tasty. Kinda taste like an orange Starburst.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This is an excellent base recipe!! I believe the recipe is very simple and easy to alter depending on individual tastes. As I read in an earlier review, the brand of O.J. concentrate is an important part to the success of this smoothie. I used a Meijer brand and it was more bitter than I cared for and when I used the second half of the can for the second batch, I upped the sugar to half a cup and upped the vanilla extract to 1 1/2 tsp. I also used a canned whipped cream on top, which added a more creamy/frothy texture (was very good and did not make overly sweet!). Thanks Trudy for this awesome recipe!! Can't please everyone, but you have pleased me and my family (and apparently many others!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Fantastic! I made it exactly as the recipe stated and it was delicious! Like drinking a creamsicle. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
YUM! To give it that Orange Julius frothiness, I added 1 egg white, 1 Tbsp cornstarch, and 1 Tbsp powdered coffee creamer. Sounds gross but it tasted perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AccidentalChef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Cool and refreshing. I used caster sugar (superfine sugar) so it would melt easier in the blender. I doubled the ingredients, but didn't have room in the blender for 20 ice cubes, so just used 14. Everyone really enjoyed it. I might add a bit less sugar next time, but everyone else said the sugar content was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Very sweet and had a distinct concentrate taste. My kids didn't even finish theirs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ravenswood, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Moundsville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by xmyheart
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Awesome tasting smoothie! I added vanilla ice cream (about 5 big scoops of it) and a lot more ice to get it to the consistency I like (thick). This was a huge hit! I topped it off with whipped cream and it looked and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xmyheart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
My family loves this easy recipe! We have tried many frozen concentrates and found some could use a little more suger & some less. Our favorite is pineapple-orange made the same way as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
These were great - my family loved them. I wish they were a little thicker - may cut down on the water next time. I threw a banana and some protein powder in them to thicken it up and add some extra vitamins. Made a great healthy breakfast drink!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Amazing taste!! Quite creamy with powdered milk....thus tastes better!! Amazing choice of drink to make for a very hot afternoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

B and L's Strawberry Smoothie

Fresh berries, skim milk, plain yogurt, and vanilla make a 5-star smoothie.

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Groovy Green Smoothie

Sneak some fresh greens into your kids with this tasty smoothie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States