Orange Slice Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by GIRLNBLACK77
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I baked the first batch as instructed, even coating the chopped candy to keep them from clumping, and every single cookie cemented to the pans. I pried off ugly chunks. The second batch, I put in an 8x8 pan and baked as bar cookies, and they turned out a lot better. Good flavor, but I will not repeat this mess again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Golden Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I grew up eating Orange slice cake for Christmas...and these give the same flavor and keep the tradition alive without the hassle of the big cake. Thank you so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
These just didn't work for me. They stuck to my baking sheets. They taste OK, but all I have is pieces--not a single cookie came off whole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I have never greased a cookie sheet to bake cookies before, so I chose to use parchment paper instead. The first batch of cookies did spread quite a bit, so I added more flour. The second batch turned out a little better. I also rolled the cut up slices of orange candy in flour to keep them from sticking. It worked well. They aren't very pretty, but so chewy and a nice change from the usual. They do seem to taste better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
My husband's favorite candy is orange slices. I didn't actually think that a cookie recipe containing these candies existed, but is does. So I whipped up a batch of these for him tonight. We love the dough. The cookies are also really good, but flatten out a lot, leaving the orange slices as huge bumps in a flat cookie. My recommendation would be to chop the orange slices as finely as you can. I cut each slice into 5 pieces, but wish now that I had kept chopping. I am sure that I will be making more of these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
~I recently made these because the recipe sounded interesting. The hardest part was cutting up the orange slice candies (i doubled the recipe to give these away for Christmas cookies) & it seemed to take forever. Other than that, they came out just fine..The texture of the cookie was kinda thin but were chewy & good. TIP~Unless you really LOVE the orange slice candies...this may not be the best recipe...I will probably try this recipe again down the road, but will make it with spiced gum drops. (the orange slices were just too much for me..) Still a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
The flavor was DELICIOUS, don't get me wrong. But the cookies spread too much and came out flat as pancakes! I think next time I'll increase the flour/butter ratio and add some baking powder so they rise some. Snipping the orange candy and dunking them in flour was also a great tip--not too tedious, SO worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Munster, Indiana, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
I was so happy to have stumbled across this recipe - it was like you peaked into my pantry and made a cookie out of what was in there. I made half of these exactly as written and while they were delicious, they were not as 'puffy' as I like my cookies to be so I added a bit more flour (about 1/2 cup) and the second half were perfection. Great tip by the way about sprinkling the cut up orange slices w/ sugar to keep them from sticking together. Next time I may add some macadamia nuts to these to give them even more of a tropical flavor. Great post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYBOWES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Plain, New York, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Added butterscotch and white chocolate chips. Tasted delicious, but for some reason I could not get these to cook correctly. They were flat and greasy in the middle. Tried different cookie sheets, adding flour, oats, etc, but no success. I like my cookies to look good as well as taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tanaquil
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Update: My son came home and declared these the best cookies ever, so I will have bump up my rating. Very 'kid-friendly'! He loved them. Original review: I am undecided about these cookies. Very pretty--kind of reminded me of an unspiced snickerdoodle (nicely cracked on top). But I am not sure about the taste. Maybe I didn't cut my orange slices up as small as they should have been, because the orange bits sat there like lumps and biting into them inside the cookie kind of clamped my jaws together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States