Orange Slice Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
STICKY FINGERS!!! This recipe makes a good cookie. They are easy to make, but cutting up the orange slice candy is tedious and sticky, but not difficult. I cut the regular sugar to 1/2 cup, since the candy and the coconut add sweetness and sugar already. One trick that worked well for me was having the bowl of sifted dry ingredients handy when I cut up the orange candy. I dropped the cut candy into the flour mixture which prevented them from clumping when I mixed the batter. I dipped my fingertips in the flour and that helped to keep the candy from clinging to my fingers. I also added the coconut to the flour mix, and tossed it all together before adding to the sugar/egg mixture. It's nice to have a cookie recipe on hand that doesn't have nuts, since so many people are allergic to them these days. I like nuts myself, and think that chopped macadamias would be good in these for some crunch and another hint of the tropics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
After being on the site for many years this is the first time I have posted a review. I HAD to! These are sooooo good. My husband loves orange slices so I had to try it. I'm so glad I did he LOVED them. I did use orange extract as others suggested, but forgot the zest and the coconut, it didn't matter because the orange slices gave it just the right flavor. I also took the suggestions of cutting the candies in sugar and tried flour. The flour worked the best. After eating a few I started to think these might be really good with Spiced Gum Drops too. And they are!!! So I'm off to make my third batch in a week!!! Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
The flavor was DELICIOUS, don't get me wrong. But the cookies spread too much and came out flat as pancakes! I think next time I'll increase the flour/butter ratio and add some baking powder so they rise some. Snipping the orange candy and dunking them in flour was also a great tip--not too tedious, SO worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Munster, Indiana, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
These are sooo good! I used pure orange extract for the vanilla...it gave a very subtle, orange taste. I cut the orange slices up into raisin size pieces & then noticed that they wre sticking together (due to the unsugared parts after they were cut) so I sprinkled sugar on them & gave them a toss, working the clumps apart. Tedious but worth it. These have great texture for an oatmeal cookie. I will use the base recipe & try other additives besides the orange slices. Not that they weren't very good but there is a lot of candies out there, I don't want to play favorites. LOL Thansk for a wonderful cookie recipe Louise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patrick Luce
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Update: My son came home and declared these the best cookies ever, so I will have bump up my rating. Very 'kid-friendly'! He loved them. Original review: I am undecided about these cookies. Very pretty--kind of reminded me of an unspiced snickerdoodle (nicely cracked on top). But I am not sure about the taste. Maybe I didn't cut my orange slices up as small as they should have been, because the orange bits sat there like lumps and biting into them inside the cookie kind of clamped my jaws together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Luce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2000
Moist, juicy, really good. This cookie recipie was loved by my whole family, big and little. I am in the process of passing the recipie around to numerous people
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GIRLNBLACK77
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I baked the first batch as instructed, even coating the chopped candy to keep them from clumping, and every single cookie cemented to the pans. I pried off ugly chunks. The second batch, I put in an 8x8 pan and baked as bar cookies, and they turned out a lot better. Good flavor, but I will not repeat this mess again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Golden Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
~I recently made these because the recipe sounded interesting. The hardest part was cutting up the orange slice candies (i doubled the recipe to give these away for Christmas cookies) & it seemed to take forever. Other than that, they came out just fine..The texture of the cookie was kinda thin but were chewy & good. TIP~Unless you really LOVE the orange slice candies...this may not be the best recipe...I will probably try this recipe again down the road, but will make it with spiced gum drops. (the orange slices were just too much for me..) Still a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
I was so happy to have stumbled across this recipe - it was like you peaked into my pantry and made a cookie out of what was in there. I made half of these exactly as written and while they were delicious, they were not as 'puffy' as I like my cookies to be so I added a bit more flour (about 1/2 cup) and the second half were perfection. Great tip by the way about sprinkling the cut up orange slices w/ sugar to keep them from sticking together. Next time I may add some macadamia nuts to these to give them even more of a tropical flavor. Great post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYBOWES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Plain, New York, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Added butterscotch and white chocolate chips. Tasted delicious, but for some reason I could not get these to cook correctly. They were flat and greasy in the middle. Tried different cookie sheets, adding flour, oats, etc, but no success. I like my cookies to look good as well as taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States