Orange Slice Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2000
Moist, juicy, really good. This cookie recipie was loved by my whole family, big and little. I am in the process of passing the recipie around to numerous people
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2001
Excellent - even better after resting in tightly covered container for 3 or more days. Better hide them or they won't last that long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
WOW!! We've tried other orange slice cookie recipes and they tasted good, but were so hard! These are the absolute best!! They were soft and chewy with a terrific flavor. THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
I love this cookie. It is a nice change of pace from the usual cookie recipe. I substituted a little shortening for some of the butter and added orange zest to the dough for some extra orange flavor. Very addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
These are sooo good! I used pure orange extract for the vanilla...it gave a very subtle, orange taste. I cut the orange slices up into raisin size pieces & then noticed that they wre sticking together (due to the unsugared parts after they were cut) so I sprinkled sugar on them & gave them a toss, working the clumps apart. Tedious but worth it. These have great texture for an oatmeal cookie. I will use the base recipe & try other additives besides the orange slices. Not that they weren't very good but there is a lot of candies out there, I don't want to play favorites. LOL Thansk for a wonderful cookie recipe Louise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
OH, YUM! These are FANTASTIC! My mom's birthday is coming up, and I was happy to find a recipe for orange slice cookies from a really old church cookbook. (I remember that orange slices were one of my mom's favorite candies as I was growing up.) Well, the cookies from the cookbook were a disaster. There must have been missing ingredients/wrong amounts.. I was so upset! Then, I went to Allrecipes.com and did a search and--hooray!--I came across this one and just made them and are they ever GOOD! Whoever said that these cookies could be habit-forming is correct! I will try to get the prettiest ones packaged up and in the mail tomorrow. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
STICKY FINGERS!!! This recipe makes a good cookie. They are easy to make, but cutting up the orange slice candy is tedious and sticky, but not difficult. I cut the regular sugar to 1/2 cup, since the candy and the coconut add sweetness and sugar already. One trick that worked well for me was having the bowl of sifted dry ingredients handy when I cut up the orange candy. I dropped the cut candy into the flour mixture which prevented them from clumping when I mixed the batter. I dipped my fingertips in the flour and that helped to keep the candy from clinging to my fingers. I also added the coconut to the flour mix, and tossed it all together before adding to the sugar/egg mixture. It's nice to have a cookie recipe on hand that doesn't have nuts, since so many people are allergic to them these days. I like nuts myself, and think that chopped macadamias would be good in these for some crunch and another hint of the tropics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
After being on the site for many years this is the first time I have posted a review. I HAD to! These are sooooo good. My husband loves orange slices so I had to try it. I'm so glad I did he LOVED them. I did use orange extract as others suggested, but forgot the zest and the coconut, it didn't matter because the orange slices gave it just the right flavor. I also took the suggestions of cutting the candies in sugar and tried flour. The flour worked the best. After eating a few I started to think these might be really good with Spiced Gum Drops too. And they are!!! So I'm off to make my third batch in a week!!! Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tanaquil
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Update: My son came home and declared these the best cookies ever, so I will have bump up my rating. Very 'kid-friendly'! He loved them. Original review: I am undecided about these cookies. Very pretty--kind of reminded me of an unspiced snickerdoodle (nicely cracked on top). But I am not sure about the taste. Maybe I didn't cut my orange slices up as small as they should have been, because the orange bits sat there like lumps and biting into them inside the cookie kind of clamped my jaws together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Added butterscotch and white chocolate chips. Tasted delicious, but for some reason I could not get these to cook correctly. They were flat and greasy in the middle. Tried different cookie sheets, adding flour, oats, etc, but no success. I like my cookies to look good as well as taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States