Orange Slice Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
These were really tasty cookies. Crispy like a sugar cookie, chewy candy orange bits that were a surprisingly nice change. Next time I will cut the candies into smaller bits. I cut each one into 4 pieces, but even smaller would have been better. I only got 4 dozen cookies from this instead of the stated 6. These could probably be done with spice drop candies and other gummy candies as well. The batter is really great on it's own and doesn't really even need the candy to make the cookie good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by MELISSABEAR
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
I remember my gram-gram making these for me as a little kid. It wasn't until I took a bite, however, that I was immediately taken back to sunny afternoons playing "tea party." The dough is a little dry, which makes rolling these into balls very easy. Wonderful recipe, thanks for posting this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELISSABEAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aliso Viejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Thank you for the recipe. My mother-n-law makes these every year around Christmas, we had moved away from home and was having cravings for them. The funny thing was after I made these, my husband called her bragging about them and she had to drive an hour and a half just to try them. As soon as she walked in the door, it was okay where are they at? She didn't say anything after tasting them, which means I had something to brag about, lol. Anyway, this was a fantastic recipe, easy to follow, easy to cook, hard to mess up. I rate it on the "Can't eat just one scale!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
These cookies have a great taste and texture! Great cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Okay, these are a little sweet for me, but . . .I LOVE orange slices, so I'm thrilled by the taste of these. The dough is very dry . . .maybe I'll add some liquid next time, but otherwise easy to work with. Not so thrilled about the time it took to cut up the orange slices, but maybe my food processor can help me out with that next time. Overall, I think it's worth making. I really like them! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Exactly what I remember my Mom making when I was a kid. I followed the recipe word for word and they came out perfectly. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixeegirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manlius, New York, USA
Living In: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Aside from the orange slices being a pain to cut(I found a knife dipped in hot water worked much easier than scissors), these were easy & very tasty. I only got 1/2 cookie to try & they were gone! They looked great on cookie trays too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Unbelievable! Just like I remembered from grade school! These were a huge hit a a party-everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I'm on my wife's account to post this review: These are just like my grandma made when I was a little boy nearly 30 years ago. After my wife heard about these seemingly strange cookies, she found this recipe and made them for me. She also took extras to a party and they were a huge hit with the kids. I think the adults looked at them like "what's in here?" but the kids (and I) had 4 or 5 cookies each. :) Like I said, they were a hit with the kids. And if you're an adult and had these as a kid....you'll like them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryMerry777

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheldahl, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
This is the recipe my MIL used. I had misplaced mine and was delighted to see it again. Made these for DH for Valentine's day; he was delighted and enjoyed the cookies, but didn't like the walnuts I had added per a reviewer's suggestion; I prefer the cookies with nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States