Orange Slice Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I’m somewhat torn on this review… this is an absolutely beautiful cookie – thick and pretty, with little orange chunks of the orange candy peeking through. They’re the prized light and crispy along the edges and soft and chewy on the inside. Just a perfect cookie but in my view not as good as it could be because, I’m afraid, of the orange slice candy, which made these TOO sweet. Hubs, however, would disagree. He loved the little pockets of intense orange sweetness. For myself, I’d love to see any number of things substituted for the candy (chocolate chips, dried berries, coconut, nuts, chopped candy bars, raisins, etc.), given that the cookie itself was so perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
These were really tasty cookies. Crispy like a sugar cookie, chewy candy orange bits that were a surprisingly nice change. Next time I will cut the candies into smaller bits. I cut each one into 4 pieces, but even smaller would have been better. I only got 4 dozen cookies from this instead of the stated 6. These could probably be done with spice drop candies and other gummy candies as well. The batter is really great on it's own and doesn't really even need the candy to make the cookie good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
I just made these and they are wonderful. Even my picky husband liked them. The orange slices add a great sweet taste. A real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I'm on my wife's account to post this review: These are just like my grandma made when I was a little boy nearly 30 years ago. After my wife heard about these seemingly strange cookies, she found this recipe and made them for me. She also took extras to a party and they were a huge hit with the kids. I think the adults looked at them like "what's in here?" but the kids (and I) had 4 or 5 cookies each. :) Like I said, they were a hit with the kids. And if you're an adult and had these as a kid....you'll like them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryMerry777

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheldahl, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
This was a yummy oatmeal cookie and the orange flavor made it especially unique. Next time I make it, I will be sure to snip the orange slices into smaller pieces. I cut them along the "sections" and the bits were too big. All in all, a hit. I had several requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
I added a cup of chopped walnuts and baked only 6 minutes at 350 degrees. Made a wonderful, chewy cookie. Everybody wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Great recipe! Love the slightly crunchy edges and soft centers. I halved the recipe and it worked perfectly. I sprayed my knife with a little non-stick baking spray and didn't have many issues with chopping the orange slices. I was a little worried that the candy would harden upon cooling or by the next day. I am pleasantly surprised. Just as soft and yummy as yesterday. We will make these again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Unbelievable! Just like I remembered from grade school! These were a huge hit a a party-everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Aside from the orange slices being a pain to cut(I found a knife dipped in hot water worked much easier than scissors), these were easy & very tasty. I only got 1/2 cookie to try & they were gone! They looked great on cookie trays too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Exactly what I remember my Mom making when I was a kid. I followed the recipe word for word and they came out perfectly. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixeegirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manlius, New York, USA
Living In: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States