Orange Slice Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Hollywood
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Loved the batter, but the cookie spread out too much. Too thin. Tried not using cooking spray to grease the pan and that seemed to help some but still didn't bake up nice and plump. Not sure what I did wrong, followed the directions perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
These cookies are awesome. Bit crunchy on the outside, soft/gooey on the inside. Didn't have to tweak the recipe 1000 different ways from the original, followed it exactly. I love em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
We LOVE these cookies! I use butter and old fashioned ozts but otherwise this is the same as my recipe. I always bake my cookies on airbake pans and they turn out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
These were fun! My dad loves orange slice candies, so I keep them around for when he stops over. I had this in my recipe box for awhile and finally got around to making these... yum! The cookie base was good - a light crisp when you bite into it then chewy. I loved the little bits of chewy orange scattered throughout! Not only did it look pretty, they tasted yummy! Dad got a kick out of them too. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
These cookies were very easy to make, and very good, came out very nice, however the children did not like them too much to the children they were just okay. The adults however loved them and gobbled them up. I can't give it 5 stars only because the children all said they were just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Iron River, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Great recipe! Love the slightly crunchy edges and soft centers. I halved the recipe and it worked perfectly. I sprayed my knife with a little non-stick baking spray and didn't have many issues with chopping the orange slices. I was a little worried that the candy would harden upon cooling or by the next day. I am pleasantly surprised. Just as soft and yummy as yesterday. We will make these again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I made them for a friend who remembered his mom used to make them for him years ago when he was in the Marines. He said they all disappeared and he only ever got one or two. They are a good oatmeal-based cookie, but not worth all the trouble to be honest. I used this recipe instead of the other one because our friend didn't remember having any coconut in his mom's cookies. Coconut would have been a nice touch. Cutting up those orange slices is a PAIN. I tried using a knife, a pastry cutting blade, and finally kitchen shears. The kitchen shears worked best with cooking spray on the blades, but that ain't sayin' much! It took over an hour to cut them all up (one bag of Kroger brand orange slices)! I cut them up into half a raisin size, (after reading everyone else's comments about the smaller the better). That was a great size. Much bigger, and the cookies would have been too sweet/too chewy (and I love sweet). I did put the candy pieces in flour as I cut them to keep all the pieces separate. I should have subtracted out some flour from the dough recipe since the orange bits were flour coated, because the cookies didn't spread much while cooking. The cookie part itself is great. Reminds me of an oatmeal cookie. I kept thinking it wanted a touch of cinnamon and/or nutmeg. Anyway, I would have given it five stars if the orange candy had been easier to cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by carmalex
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
These cookies came out great. I didn’t find them to be overly sweet as others had mentioned. It was a bit tedious to cut up the orange slices; I did use the sprayed kitchen shears as suggested in the recipe. I liked the mix of oats in this cookie too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I’m somewhat torn on this review… this is an absolutely beautiful cookie – thick and pretty, with little orange chunks of the orange candy peeking through. They’re the prized light and crispy along the edges and soft and chewy on the inside. Just a perfect cookie but in my view not as good as it could be because, I’m afraid, of the orange slice candy, which made these TOO sweet. Hubs, however, would disagree. He loved the little pockets of intense orange sweetness. For myself, I’d love to see any number of things substituted for the candy (chocolate chips, dried berries, coconut, nuts, chopped candy bars, raisins, etc.), given that the cookie itself was so perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Makes way more orange cookies than you'll ever want. The batter is the same as in a good oatmeal raisin cookie recipe though. So put raisins in it instead and it will at least be healthy, instead of so overly sugary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States