Orange Slice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Modified this recipe by using 1 cup of chopped dates & 1 1/2 cups of chopped mixed pecans/walnuts. Also used margarine instead of butter. Baked in bundt pan for close to 3 hours at 250. Removed cake from pan and poured powdered sugar/orange juice on while still hot spooning reserve over the top. PERFECTION!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Powell, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
hard to get out of the pan, almost overflowed my large bundt pan. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Have been making this cake for years. It is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NO2JROF4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Brownstown, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This is a huge part of my Christmas memories! Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Lee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
This recipe has been in my family for 30+ years. The only difference is they added 1 cup raisins, I don't care for raisins so I add 1 cup crasines. Since cranberries go so well with oranges it makes it more scrumptous. I do wrap my cake tightly in plastic wrap then again in foil wrap & store it in the fridge at least 1 wk, turning it over every day so the juice doesn't settle on the bottom. It definately gets better over time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MsLisaKY
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I had originally got this recipe from my mom which she had got it from my aunt.. anyways Its an old fashion southern cake. I used this same recipe on here.. Major tip : You leave the cake in the pan over night, it helped to let my pan set in a very warm water bath for about 1-2 mins then attempt to flip it out. Mine wouldn’t come out until I did this. Hope this helps J
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KANANICOOKS
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This is a classic Southern recipe. I had no difficulty making it and it turned out beautifully. I made it exactly as the recipe is written with no substitutions. It finished cooking in two hours exactly. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KANANICOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Sarajevo, Federation Of Bosnia And Herzegovina, Bosnia And Herzegovina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
My grandfather and I made this for years until he passed away. His recipe was his version with no ingredients to follow (measurements). This is exactly it. I did not have buttermilk so I added 1.5tsp lemon to milk then the soda. I also make it in loaf pan for gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Wow! My husband wants this every year for the Thanksgiving and Christmas holidays! Thank goodness he can help me mix it when it gets real thick, because my hand strength won't get me through this one. Man, I love orange slices. I'll have to cut them smaller the next time, because it leaves too large a hole when I sneak them out of the cake right now. I soaked the cake overnight in 1 cup of OJ, but it still was too dry. I made a glaze out of OJ and powdered sugar, but I needed a sauce to spoon over the slices for more moisture when serving. I'll work on that for next time. Thanks for a really good recipe. With stuff like this around, being diabetic is a really big pain! I love orange slices a whole big bunch, if I didn't get that idea across before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
My mother made this every Christmas since the 1960's. The only difference - her recipe called for only 8 oz. of dates, and added 2 tablespoons of grated orange peel and was baked at 325. She always used a large (16 x 5 x 5) loaf pan. In recent years, I've been the one who bakes it each December. The cake always collapsed when the glaze was poured over it, so a couple of years ago, I tried heating the glaze in the microwave first. It works! The cake remains full size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States