Orange Slice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2000
I have had something similar to this and it was great. I can hardly wait to make this as I know it will be dilicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2001
One of the best cake recipes I have! My kids don't care for the coconut or dates, but all the more for me and my coworkers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2001
Great Recipe, fun to make for the holidays, it replaces the boring old fruitcakes often given.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
Excellent! Fun to make. Followed recipe to a T and it turned out perfectly. A bit on the rich side so you only need a small slice, but sooo delicious. Also, quite sweet. Next time I'd cut the sugar by l/2 to 3/4 of a cup. Otherwise, wonderfully tasty. Ingredients are a bit pricey, but worth it. If you don't like cakes with dried fruits, but want a festive cake, this is definitely the one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
The cake was good, but I had problems getting the cake out of the pan the next morning. I finally heated the pan for a few minutes in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
When I was a little girl, my grandmother would make this cake for my birthday. She has since died and we've misplaced her recipe. This is the closest I've found. One difference that may help is that instead of an orange juice glaze, she soaked paper towels in juice and wrapped the cake completely with the towels. The juice soaks in to the cake! No sticky mess and less sweet. GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
Wonderful-tasted just like the orange slice cake my Grandmother used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer McSparin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eldorado, Illinois, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
This has become a family tradition--and is now requested by our friends as well. It's actually not that labor intensive (unless you're a box mix person)-- just a few more ingredients than normal. Snip the candies with scissors and purchase chopped dates to cut down on prep time. (BTW: Don't even try to make it in a bundt pan--not big enough) Wrap in with plastic, then foil. Place in the refrigerator and turn twice a day for the first couple days. It helps to distribute the orange juice more evenly through the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Piedmont, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
This is a recipe that I have used for years. I make it for my friends as well as myself. I make it for Thanksgiving and Christmas. It is the best you ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
This is a recipe my grandmom used to make and I have the recipe the only difference is that when you do the oj mixture you put it on let it cool and then wrap in foil for a week and set if fridge. then bring it back out and do the oj mixture again you might have to use toothpick or something like that for mixture to go into cake. everytime you eat it when through wrap in foil and put in fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States