Orange Slice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
The cake had a fruitloop taste to it. Was not worth the $15 it cost to make. Less than a quarter of it was ate and the rest was tossed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Storm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Oskaloosa, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Very much enjoyed this untraditional cake. WOW! I wondered what to do with those orange slices - now I know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geekygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
My mom used to make this when I was a kid. She has been gone almost 2 years now and I was thinking back to the old days and remembered this cake and just for kicks typed it into the search box. Imagine my surprise to find the recipe!!! My kids and I are off to the store to get the stuff and make one right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Port, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
very popular with grandma and friends...very yummy and does get better each day! definitely a keeper for baking during the winter months
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I was VERY leery to make this cake, but my girlfriend insisted it was delicious. She was right!!! My teen-aged daughter, who hates coconut, would not stop eating it and my husband, who eats mostly healthy things, said he has become addicted to this cake. Personally, my daughter and I thought it was best still slightly warm. (But we still loved it days later.) My husband felt it improved with age. No matter what the cost (it wasn't cheap to make) I will be making this cake again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I lost this recipe or close to it (called orange fuit cake) years ago. I was thrilled to find it. This is SO good and everyone loves it. People who say they hate fruit cake are always suprised and delighted with it. Thanks Carol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
This has to be one of my alltime favorite holiday recipes. My mother used to make this every Christmas but due to arthritis she can't mix it up so I now make it, no problems with the kitchenaid mixer. As for the cake being expensive the only thing I find pricey is the nuts but I have always used walnuts which are cheaper and in my opinion much better than pecans in this cake. I also substitute dried pineapple & raisins for the dates (half pound of each). One last tip: dip your knife in flour as you cut up the orange slice candy, it makes it much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaneyN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I am so glad that I came across this recipe. My granny used to make this when I was a kid and it was my favorite! She never used the coconut in it, but I love coconut, so it is a win-win for me! Thanks for the memories with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tracy Crews
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
Fairly expensive to make and very labor intensive. A lot like a fruit cake..which some people will not even try. All in all a good recipe. Make sure you cook it the entire recomended time and do not keep opening the door to check it! It is low heat and will be ok!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Crews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
This is a recipe my grandmom used to make and I have the recipe the only difference is that when you do the oj mixture you put it on let it cool and then wrap in foil for a week and set if fridge. then bring it back out and do the oj mixture again you might have to use toothpick or something like that for mixture to go into cake. everytime you eat it when through wrap in foil and put in fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States