Orange Sherbet Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I've been making this 'salad' for years ... Though I drain the Mandarin Oranges and save the liquid, adding this liquid to make the 2 cups of water ... Also, try using Vanilla Ice cream in place of the Orange Sherbet ... The end result is very much like a Half & Half Creamsicle ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Growing up in the Midwest farm country, we kids were allowed to have desserts like this with meals, since they were called "salads." I continue this tradition today with my family, and my kids and guests feel like they are getting away with something. This is a simple, very tasty recipe. Remember to allow the gelatin to thicken slightly before stirring in the mandarin oranges, and they won't tend to float. Thanks for the recipe and the memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
We did make this for Easter! It was fantastic! We didn't flip it out but rather just served it from a bowl. For others who are mold-shy like myself, I reccommend using a shallow dish as the oranges float to the surface!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
This was great! I followed the suggestions of using the liquid the oranges were in. Great idea. I also whipped in 4 ounces of cream cheese to the hot jello mixture and used orange cream sherbert. My husband loved it and so did I. We will definitely make again and experiment with different flavors/fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJWEYERMAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Some of the family loved this, others not so much. Not sure I will make it again. I have another similar recipe that has whipped cream in it that the whole family likes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
We've been making this recipe every Easter and Thanksgiving for at least thirty years. First we drain the juice from the can of mandarin oranges, then add water to that to equal two cups. Wonderful, classic, pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMWILSON98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Fantastic! Everyone wanted the recipe! Instead of a mold I used a pretty glass bowl. Also used the tip of using the reserved juice with the H20. I also added some fresh Orange Zest in the mixture and topped with Cool Whip and garnished with Orange Zest! Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dixiedot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Not bad. Not great. Would have liked if there were more mandarin oranges in it. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Used recipe out of red book
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vikki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This is almost identical to a salad I've made at Easter for many years. The only difference is I use 1 1/2 C boiling water, 2 cans of mandarin oranges, drained and I add the very small can of frozen orange juice. It's a refreshing salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States