Orange Sherbet Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
This has been a huge hit both times I served it. I've made with and without the pineapple chunks. Absolutely delicious and very refreshing for spring/summer. Thanks, Susan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
Very good. It has an unusual taste with the sour cream, but we really liked it. I have made it several times for different functions and always get praises for it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
Didn't really gel up like it seems like it's supposed to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Craig, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe. I made it for Christmas and for a birthday celebration for work. I received many requests for the recipe. It makes for a pretty color too. I used boiling water to dissolve the gelatin. I also used a corningware oval dish and worked well in that too. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This has great flavor but mine did not gel properly either! I made it for a shower I am giving tomorrow so I will have to figure out something else now. Not sure what went wrong...disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Very good! Nice cool and refreshing dessert for warm weather. I did use yogurt instead of sour cream. Topped with whipped cream. Yum! I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This has a nice flavor (sort of like the old orange-cream ice cream bar), but as with another reviewer, mine did not gel well. Only change I made was using sugar-free jello, but it was well-gelled before I beat in the sour cream and sherbet. The instructions were to beat "...until fluffy and well blended." Maybe I overbeat it, but it almost liquified. By the time you add together the costs of three cans of fruit, a pint of sherbet, a container of sour cream, and two packages of jello, this was not an inexpensive dessert to make and then fail. We'll end up drinking this like a smoothie so it won't go to waste, but I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
I used sugar free orange gelatin and reduced fat sour cream. I actually made these into freezer pops using dixie cups and popsicle sticks. HOLY FRIJOLES, was this SO. FREAKING. GOOD. All of us were "mmmm-ing" over this dessert, even my husband who swears up and down that he hates "dreamsicles". This is one of the best things I've had in a LONG time. NOTE: To make this a little easier to prepare, if you can soften your sherbet as much as you can without it going completely liquid and beat that in with the soft-set gelatin, then fold in the sour cream and fruit, it turns out a lot better. It dosen't get gross that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This was so yummy! I left out the pineapple and used 8 oz of Cool Whip instead of sour cream. My grandkids couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Valentine's Day Salad

A celebratory strawberry Jell-O salad with lots of fresh fruit.

Instant Pistachio Salad

See how to make a simple dessert salad starring pistachio pudding.

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States