Orange Sherbet Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Loved it! We are big gelatin fans, and this dish is very refreshing. I halved the recipe, since only 2 of us were eating it and I didn't want the bananas going brown. I went to pull out my can of mandarin oranges, only to discover they were peaches. So this dish was made with peaches, this time, but I have purchased mandarin oranges for the next time. A nice summer salad/dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I followed the ingredients in the recipe exactly. Rather than 4 cups of boiling water I drained the mandarin oranges and added boiling water to that liquid to make 4 cups. The advice of another reviewer to let the sherbet sit out to soften was very helpful. The first time I made this I had the same problem as another reviewer - using a mold and when I flipped it out it was not firm enough to hold its shape well. This time, I looked a bit more carefully at the size of my sherbet container. It is not a quart - it is 1.69 quart. The first time I tossed the whole thing in. This time I adjusted and really only used 1 quart. Problem solved. It makes a LOT and if you can't use it in a couple of meals the bananas turn brown. Unless this is for a party, cut the recipe in half! The flavor of this salad is excellent. Love the orange, the mandarins and the bananas. We'll use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I made this salad for a quick healthy dessert and it was delicious! and super easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Perfect dessert on a hot day. I used sugar free jello and it turned out fine. Also drained the mandarin oranges prior to adding them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lebanon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I made this for Thanksgiving and the family enjoyed it... especially the kids. Family preference is for nothing "chunky" in the jello salad so left out the oranges and bananas and it was still delicious. I frosted with cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Not so nice - I had to use frozen yogurt because they don't have orange sherbert here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hanover, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe. I purchased the wrong size box of Jello so I had to cut the recipe in half. I think I will try adding pineapple and maybe miniature marshmallows next time. Great recipe thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweettreats
Home Town: Orangevale, California, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA
Photo by Cara
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
This was very good and easy to make too. I was not able to use all of the sherbet because the mixture became too cool before I was done. I am not sure how you could use the whole pint without reheating the mixture. I used a can of crushed pineapple, one can of mandarin oranges, and two small bananas and it was just the right amount of fruit. I will definitely try this using other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I followed this recipe to the T. It was very tasty, but I tried to put it in a Jell-O mold. It seemed to set well, but when I flipped it to a serving plate and set it in the frig, the entire thing collapsed and just kindof "melted" all over my frig. I poured what remained into a bowl and served it. I have made a similiar recipe before and never had a problem with the mold. I don't know what happened!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This is a simple, low fat alternative for a wonderful dessert. I used sugar free jello and, like other reviewers omitted the bananas. We ate this on Easter and my family just loved it. With a little fat free whipped topping, it reminded me of a creamsicle. Next time I am going to try a raspberry version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maricopa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States