Orange Sherbet II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
Tastes more like creamsicle than orange sherbet. I put all ingredients in my ice cream freezer, and it came out like thick soft serve. Not a lot of orange flavor, doesn't taste like the store bought stuff at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
i really liked this recipe everyone in the family and a 2 year old boy i help babysitt loved it it was easy the only issue i had was that you did not specify what kind of orange juice to make it with so i used sunny delight i have a dibetic mom so i think next time i will use splenda and i have a question if u dont have a 15 ounce can of evaperated milk u only have a 12 ounce what do u do to make up for the 3 ounces of evaperated milk u dont have?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krissy Leigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
This became an instant hit with my husband. My daughter had fun making it with me, but didn't like having to wait so long...it took most of the day to get done. The taste was great but my daughter was disappointed that it wasn't very orange in color. I will definately be making this again and maybe I will try some of the changes that other made to experiment a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkey, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2004
The milk flavor was overwhelming. It didn't taste like sherbet at all. I followed the directions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2004
Yes! After reading the other reviews I did make two small changes. To give it a stronger orange flavor I reduced 1&1/2 cups of orange juice with 1 tsp. of marshmallow fluff stirred in to 5 oz. with to replace the condensed milk in the original recipe. I loved and followed APPYFROGGIE's suggested steps and this came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2004
I loved this recipe! I tried to cut back on the canned milk because of other reviews and it was a bit strong. I only made three changes to the recipe . . . I added 1-2 tsp lemon juice and 1 tsp vanilla. To get a smooth flavor more like fruity ice cream place the pre-canned milk mix in your freezer in a tubbaware bowl and stir it about every 45 minutes. When it seems a bit more firm (about 2 hrs) add the canned milk (only 4-5oz!) and let set overnight. Break it up in the morning and mix in a blender or stand mixer till smooth (the more air you get into the mix the lighter the end product will be) Then place back in the freezer to firm up again. Note: You can use strained watermelon, mango, grapes, or any fruit or mix to create your own favorites with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
I agree that there's too much evaporated milk and too little orange flavor. While I had the original orange part out of the freezer beating it, I took a taste of that and it was pretty good, so I had high hopes. I was disappointed with how the evaporated milk changed it so much. I will try experimenting and see if I can work this into something more orangy and less creamy. It was pretty easy, and I love orange, so there's at least a good basis here. UPDATE: A long time later and I decided to do something with this. I didn't want to get too drastic at first, so I increased the orange juice to 1 cup and then added 1 T of concentrate to give it more orange flavor. I had 3 oz. evaporated milk left over from something else, so I just tried the 3 oz. It was definitely much better and closer to sherbet. But it could still use a bit more orange. There's still something off about the consistency and I'm not sure how to fix that. With these changes I might call this a 4. (However, the *recipe* is still a 2.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
We could taste more of the evaporated milk flavor than the orange flavor. Not very good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLH201

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
Easy recipe. Pretty good, but would for myself add more orange juice and less condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
Very simple to make and my children really enjoyed it. I found it took longer to make than the recipe said and it tastes more like an orange popsicle with vanilla ice cream inside. Still, a keeper for it's simple ingredients and ease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Chef John's Orange Duck

See how to make simple, saucy, somewhat sexy duck a l’Orange.

Chef John’s Orange Pistachio “Greenies”

Not brownies, not blondies, these pistachio treats are tasty little greenies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States