Orange Sherbet Gelatin Mold Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2003
I'm not sure why people had trouble with this setting up. I have not made this one, I use my mom's recipe that is very old. It is: 1 large size jello, 2 cups hot water (no cold water), 1/2 pint orange sherbert or a little more. Jello should be a thick syrupy consistency and then add 1 cup drained mandarin oranges. This fills a small jello mold. I have never ever had problems with this setting up and have made this since I was a child. I really hope this helps, if it doesn't set up, then you didn't add enough sherbert. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2000
Tastes delicious however if using the juice from the mandarin oranges use 6 oz size of gelatin. When I used the 3 oz size called for in the recipe it didn't set properly. To save it, I dissolved another package of gelatin in a small amount of hot water and added it to the salad. It then set up properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
The salad set fine for me. This is fun to make, I think it was one of the first recipes I ever made as a child.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
First time I could talk my daughter into making a jello mold. Told her to look here for a recipe. Darn- Thanksgiving, a house full of guests-the "Mold" was liquid. After looking at the recipe, it was understood. You say drain the oranges, however, then the directions say "Add...mandarin oranges with juice". What juice? Of course, she thought the mandarin orange juice. PS - my daughter is 24 and was so disappointed, besides wasting all the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
I made it exactly as the author wrote and had no trouble with it setting up. I'm not sure why some people might. Could altitude have anything to do with it? We had this for special family meals when I was younger. My aunt made this and I still love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2001
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving and it did not set up!! I had drained the oranges. I would not recommend this recipe nor would I try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
this is very similar to the recipe i use... i use 3 - 3oz pks gelatin, 2 1/4 C boiling water, 1 quart of orange sherbet, and 1 - 8oz sour cream. i dissolve gelatin, then mix in sour cream, then mix in sherbet. i chill for about 30 min till partially set. then i add the mandarin oranges, then chill over night. its really good. its always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2001
The jello did not set well. It had a good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2000
This recipe is great! It's become an instant family tradition!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
I thought that the recipe was good. The kids didn't too much care for it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Chef John's Orange Duck

See how to make simple, saucy, somewhat sexy duck a l’Orange.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States