Orange Sauce for Crepes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
REally liked this recipe but had to reduce the amount of sugar to 4 tbsp, replaced the corn syrup with 2tbs maple syrup, reduce butter by half and boiled it longer (15min) to reduce. Added zest of orange
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I doubled this, but really didn't need to....it made enough...but now I have a large mason jar of it in the fridge and tonight I will make orange chicken with it... The sauce is amazing...I didn't have concentrate so I fresh squeezed about a cup or 2 of fresh OJ and it worked great...its a thin sauce so for the chicken tonight I will thicken it with corn startch and a little soy sauce to make it more of a dinner sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Tastes okay, but gets hard way too quickly to even bother serving to people. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This was perfect after I made some changes: I used OJ rather than concentrate, 1/3 c sugar, 2 tbsp. butter, 1/4 c honey, and 1 tsp. cornstarch. This produced a sauce that wasn't too sweet, and was nice and velvety. Before these changes, it was much too sweet and a bit thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SilverNBlack

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
My dad described it as tasting like orange marmalade. used regular orange juice with a heaping tablespoon of orange zest. Drizzled over dried shortcake and heated in microwave- shortcake was as good as new!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swimminash

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Terrfic with Greman Babys" (on AllRecipes) though I used Orange juice instead of concentrate. I also added a 1/4 tesp of vanilla extract to the Gream Baby mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I avoid using corn syrups and would replace it in this recipe with a smaller amount of cane sugar or honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Very good. Very "orangey". The picture featured with the recipe looks kind of grainy, but the sauce is perfectly smooth and pours very well. Thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
I thought this was very good. I used the exact ingredients;however, I cut the recipe in half as it does make a lot. I used the sauce over Barbarella's German Pancake recipe, which I also got from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
This sauce was a great compliment to my vanilla crepes and whipped cream. Almost tasted like eating a creamsicle! I put the left over sauce in a canning jar and refrigerated it. I used it a few days later, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Blueberry Sauce

See how to make a delicious blueberry sauce for breakfast and dessert.

Ginger Pear Cranberry Sauce

This incredibly flavorful cranberry sauce stars candied ginger and fresh pear.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States