Orange Sauce Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2000
This was a really good way to make chicken. The sauce took a little long to cook, but was worth it in the end. My mom thought the sauce was a little too sweet, so adjust the sugar by your own taste. Also note that breading and frying the chicken isn't necessary. I just stuck it in the oven and baked it and it tasted great. Try it with rice and carrots, the sauce tastes good on both of those as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
I only used the sauce part of this recipe with some chicken I already had. WOW!!!!! What a great sauce. My family loved it too! I plan on making ooodles of it for my daughter's graduation party cookout! Awesome Ellen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I love this recipe. There were NO leftovers with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichelleB

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oviedo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
This review is only for the sauce. I used it with sauteed tofu and veggies over rice and it was delicious! After reading other reviews, I cut down on the sugar, using somewhere between 1/2 and 3/4 cup. It definitely was sweet (but not too sweet, I thought) and very citrusy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
Usually when lots of reviewers claim something is too sweet I think they're nuts, but I went ahead and put in less sugar than called for and, for the first time I'll say something is too sweet. This is good, and I may make it again, but with lots of modifications. There was too much flour in the batter, I might use orange juice concentrate instead of OJ, less lemon, more salt and ginger... I don't know. The sauce was very sweet, light flavored and unremarkable. It needs work. (P.S.--My bf was much happier with this recipe than I was, calling it delicious.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOIREBRI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I only used the sauce portion of the recipe and it was woefully dissapointing. I added less than 1/2 a cup of sugar, so that fixed the sweetness issue other reviewers had, but the sauce didn't have an asian flair to it. That's what I was looking for, I guess. I prepared the chicken with garlic and ginger -- thankfully, that saved the meal. This is an orange sauce. Plain and simple. If that's what your looking for, you've found a good one. But if your looking for anything asian, look elsewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
my hubby and I LOVE this recipe. We add hot pepper flakes to the sauce to spice it up and it is fabulous !!only complaint is batter is to thick. We add about a half of cup less of flour and it is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Angus, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
Pretty good! I only made the sauce (to go over stir-fried chicken and rice) and it was better than a lot of Chinese restaurants that we've been to. My husband loves orange chicken and he thought this was really good. The sauce didn't thicken up much for me, of course this could be operator error, so I'll see what happens the next time I make it. Even though it wasn't thick, the taste was very good. Perhaps a little sweet, like the others said so maybe I'll reduce the sugar just a little bit next time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
This was the most amazing recipe. I literally had to juice my own oranges and lemons, which took forever, and used the suggestions like use less sugar and add crushed red pepper, and i double dipped my chicken in the egg and then flour. I served it up a low mein, My husband said it was the best thing that i had ever cooked. I was very estatic. I'd recommend this to anyone who loves to cook from sratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2000
This truly an excellent dish. It is extremely filling. It is a dish you can cook for your family or use to entertain friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States