Orange Sauce Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I really had hoped this recipes was better :( The picture looks like the chicken is in bite size pieces so I cut the chicken before breading but this made it really time consuming-none the less I thought all of the work would be worth it but the end result was plain. I agree with the previous rating that this is a basic orange sauce-nothing asain so please don't expect it to be. I will not make this again :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookswithbeer1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Yummy! Made 6 servings, still cut way back on sugar for sauce and was sweet enough. Added a bit more orange/lemon and some fresh minced ginger and a dash of Sriracha hot chili sauce. Came out great. Tenderized a chicken breast then cut into strips. Dipped into egg whites and then panko crumbs, lightly pan fried. Goes well with carrot rice recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
The orange sauce was a great success. I used panko bread crumbs instead and also added coconut flakes to the mix which added a great twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Greenwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I thought mixing the flour,egg, and milk was a bad idea, and it was. The batter after it was cooked fell off the chicken. Did I do anything wrong? The sauce was much to thin. I might make it again with less sugar and not mix the flour,egg and milk together. I loved the almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
This was the most amazing recipe. I literally had to juice my own oranges and lemons, which took forever, and used the suggestions like use less sugar and add crushed red pepper, and i double dipped my chicken in the egg and then flour. I served it up a low mein, My husband said it was the best thing that i had ever cooked. I was very estatic. I'd recommend this to anyone who loves to cook from sratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
When I was sauteeing the chicken I found it easier to go in batches. Which increases the amount of buter needed. Just make sure there is enough in the bottom of the pan as you start each round. My family enjoys the chicken in nugget sized pieces. The whole dish was delicious but it would've been great even without the sauce! Oh, I also added about a tablespoon of sweet chili sauce to the sauce for an added kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I made just the sauce to use with some chicken I already had. Since most of the reviews said the sauce was too sweet I only used 1/2 a cup of sugar instead of the full cup. I didn't have any lemon or orange zest handy, so I skipped both of those. Instead I threw in some ground ginger, roughly about a quarter of a teaspoon. I also added two tablespoons of rice vinegar and some red pepper flakes. It was very good this way - not too sweet and with a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This review is just for the sauce but i tasted great and worked perfect with some breaded chicken (mixed with orange zest & cajun spice). I didn't have any cornstarch but just added some extra flour and cooked it slightly below medium heat till it thickened up. Turned out great and tasted delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stay@homeDAD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I just made the orange sauce for some orange chicken & rice that needed more sauce. This was so good that we decided to use this recipe for all our future orange chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Pretty good! I like the way the sauce was made...it turned out the perfect consistency. I also love the breading on the chicken...it's still kind of gooey when done, but I like it that way. The flavor was alright, but I feel like it needed a little something else to it. I'm not sure what! It was just sweet. I think I like things that have a little more kick to it, but that's just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States