Orange Sauce Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
DH and I both really enjoyed this. I did adjust the number of servings to two and cut the sugar in half as others recommended. Perfect with a few crushed red pepper flakes sprinkled on top. We like to dip so the sauce was served on the side. Will make this again! Served with rice and broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Used the sauce in an amazing creation of Mt. Dew Chicken. Instead of Orange Juice used Throwback Mt. Dew with another breading recipe and chicken pieces. I can't believe how good it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Don't do the breading batter! It's WAY to messy, it's not all that special anyways, and just more work than it's worth. I just breaded my chicken by flouring the chicken pieces, dipping them in egg, and then dipping them in the bread crumbs. The sauce is excellent, add some dried chilli peppers or chilli pepper flakes for a little kick! This orange chicken goes great with rice and broccoli too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
This dish turned out great. I reduced the amount of sugar in the sauce by about 1/4 after reading reviews saying the sauce was sweet, and the sauce was perfect. This dish is time consuming to make and uses lots of pots and pans but is well worth it. I served it with angel hair pasta with parmesan, and Reisling. The flavors worked together wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Not bad. Sauce was super sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I used this recipe solely for the sauce. I'm glad I read the reviews and took the advice to reduce the sugar by half. It was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I would have given it 5 but I am not feeling all that zest. it thicken well so much in fact I had to cut an orange and add somemore juice, I also added the hot pepper flakes to give it more depth. now I LOVE sugar but at only half cup still really sweet, will use the sauce on a baked chicken tonight
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Used just the sauce. Ended up pounding the chix flat, dipping in flour, then egg mixed with milk, then crushed saltines mixed with breadcrumbs. Baked about 20 min at 400. Did the sauce just as directed- but added some shredded ginger in with the orange zest and a sprinkle of red chili peppers. Fabulous glaze! Will make again, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Fantastic! The sauce takes time to make - good solution is to double the batch and freeze half for a great weeknight meal. It is sweet - but we like sweet. The chicken is a snap to make and reheats well. Don't skip the almonds; they really add to the flavor of the chicken. The chicken could easily be a stand alone recipe. Together, this a recipe that I would not hesitate to make for a dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Texarkana, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I love this recipe. There were NO leftovers with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichelleB

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oviedo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States