Orange Roughy with Citrus Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2001
My teenage son and husband LOVED this. They don't care for breading so I didn't flour it first, just pan fried it... Also I did not have green onions or lime juice.. so I made it with 4TBSP lemon and 2TBSP orange juice. They felt this was better than restaurant quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2003
Delightful...I also bumped up the orange juice and added a TBSP of Teriyaki sauce. I used fresh basil instead of parsley. I also doubled the sauce and served it with brown rice and broccoli. I poured the sauce over the rice and broc and sprinkled with slivered almonds. Excellent dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2002
This recipe is FANTASTIC! It was so quick and easy. I wasn't sure before I made it if I would like the blend of juices with the garlic and onion, but it was just wonderful. It tastes like something you'd pay big bucks for in a fancy restaurant and is the dish I would serve to friends that I wanted to impress.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2002
I substituted Tilapia and my husband says it's the best fish I ever made! Easy, delicious, wholesome recipe. I served it with asparagus and a rice pilaf -- yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
Very tasty & perfect for dinner guests! It has a great presentation. I used tilapia instead of orange roughy. I also used the juice of half a lemon and 4 or 5 tblsp. of orange juice and the sauce was not too tart at all. Next time I may use PAM instead of oil to fry the fish. Also, I suggest doing the sauce in a separate pan from the fish and have them both going at the same time so that the sauce is ready as soon as the fish is done. This doesn't give the fish a chance to cool down at all or get soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This was absolutely delish! The sauce was a bit tart, but I used the juice from one lemon, one lime, and one orange. (So I went heavier with the lemon than the recipe called for.) If you don't want it too tart, just use more orange juice. I also used shallots instead of the green onions. The entire cooking of the meal came together in under 10 minutes....amazing! Served it with rice and asparagus. It was such a light and refreshing fish recipe. Thanks for submitting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I love how the fish turned out but I didn't care for the sauce. Im so glad I tasted it before I poured in onto the fish. It was way sour for my liking. Will use this again for the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I gave this recipe four stars because I made a few modifications to the recipe. I didn't have any fresh orange juice, so I used a Tablespoon of frozen orange juice concentrate. I also added 1/2 or 1 tsp (I didn't measure!) of honey because I had read other reviews that said it was too bitter. It took away just a little of that bite from the citrus. It was really good! We used it with some Wild Alaskan Salmon that I seasoned with salt and pepper, seared on high heat, and then finished off in the oven. The citrus complimented the buttery salmon very nicely. I'm going to use the extra sauce over some asparagus tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah
Home Town: Repulse Bay, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong
Living In: Eagle Mountain, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
Pretty good. I served the sauce on the side and had some left over with just two fish fillets. I thought it was too tart, but my husband liked it the way it was. Next time I might use more orange juice and less lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
I give this 4 stars because of the sauce...I will look for a way to thicken it. My husband loved it and so did my picky 11yo. I liked the crispness of the fish but the sauce made it soggy very quickly. This would be a good sauce for any type of fish. Thanks for sharing : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States