Orange Roughy with Citrus Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
This recipe has real potential, but is not perfect. The sweetness of the orange juice is NOT enough to counteract the tartness of the lemon and lime juices. There is no balance. To correct this problem, I suggest adding pineapple juice to taste. I was not overly impressed with this recipe, because I expect perfection and was disappointed in myself for not realizing the problem before presenting this to the dinner table. I give it a four star rating only because of the potential for excellence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha Jr.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alfred Station, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Excellent recipe. Love the citrus flavor! Next time I will use a little less garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
I had followed everyone's advice on reducing the lemon and lime and added extra orange juice. I also added black pepper with salt and coated it with flour since we like it hot here at my house. Definitely would try it again and everyone at home liked it, even though it was not something that we usually make at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
I printed up about 4 recipes for orange roughy and had my husband pick the one that sounded the best to him, and he picked this one. My family raved over this dish. It was to tart for me, but I added some salt to the sauce and it was fine, also, I left the sauce on the side, so everyone could add the amount they wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
Great fast recipe. Delicious! I will make it again and it's so simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELYNED

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
This has been by far my favorite seafood recipe from this site. I used talapia, as I didn't have any orange roughy, and I didn't have any orange juice, but I did have some left over salsa from grilled swordfish with citrus salsa. So I measured out tablespoons of the juice from that, added some basil (didn't have parsley)and minced onion (no green onions). I doubled the sauce, and it was just enough for 4 filets. I added some of the flour that I dredged the fish in at the end to thicken it up. It was just the BEST!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2005
My husband normally would not touch fish, but he said this is the best thing I've made him so far. He commented that it had very little "fishy" taste to it. It was rather easy to prepare as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
I made this dish last night for my family and it was a huge hit. It was easy to prepare and had a beautiful presentation. I served it with a fresh salad and baked sweet potatoes for a healthy dinner. I did follow suggestions of others and reduced the lemon by a bit and increased the orange juice. I will make this many more time!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
This was delicious. Even the kids liked it. Would use less lime and lemon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
Taking the advice of other reviewers, I was heavy on the orange juice and lighter on the lime and lemon juices. I liked the crunch of the onions and the color of the parsley - my sauce, however, never got really creamy notwithstanding the addition of butter. Next time, I may add some flour to the sauce to get a creamier consistency I think I would enjoy more. But overall, a lovely dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLISONHALEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States