Orange Romaine Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
I have been making a similar salad for years and will suggest that you might like to add some toasted Walnuts or toasted slivered Almonds (for crunch). This is an EXCELLENT salad! Jeanne A.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fulton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
This was delicious and very light and refreshing. Maybe a bit too light in flavor. We tripled the green onion to really have the flavor come out, otherwise it would have been a bit bland. But with the additional green onion it was wonderful. We have salad every night with dinner, and this will make a nice addition to our repertoire, especially during the spring and summer months. Edited to add: We've since had this several times in the last month. I still recommend lots of green onion. I've started adding a couple TBSP of orange juice and some orange zest to really bring out the flavor of the dressing. With these changes I'd bump up my rating from a 4 to a 5. We also toss on some flavored almond slivers to complete the salad. Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneSweetShannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Endwell, New York, USA
Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
Delicious! I didn't use the oranges or green onion. Instead I tossed it with dried cranberries, almonds and feta. This was quick, easy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
My husband and I both enjoyed this salad. I followed the recipe. It is very easy to make. I did substitute a can of mandarin oranges for the fresh orange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This was really good. I added a little orange juice to the dressing. I had some kiwi so I chopped on up with the orange. My husband isn't much of a salad eater but he eat every bite in his bowl. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
This was a very refreshing salad. The only alteration I made was reducing the amount of oil to a half cup - swimsuit season is coming soon! It was still delightful. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
This was a nice fresh tasting salad! I love the fresh orange taste in this salad compared to other salads that use Mandarine oranges which give an atrificial and overly sweet taste. I reduced the oil and used about 1/4 cup olive oil, and I increase the honey to about 3 tbsp. I added some chopped red onion to give this salad a little more color - I will probably take "KymInNM" advice and add some thinly sliced fennel for some extra crunch and flavor next time. Thanx for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
A great dish for kids! I used white wine vinegar, virgin olive oil and a teaspoon honey (plenty). My kids also added fresh shredded parmesan (which they add to everything). It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This is a great recipe and similar to one I have made before, but lost. My recipe calls for mandarin oranges - which is easy & out of the can - no peeling. Also adding sliced almonds - carmelized in a frying pan over the stove with 1-2T. of sugar. Just watch carefully and stir frequently with a wooden spoon to make sure the almonds don't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: La Vernia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I liked this, but the dressing needed more OJ than called for for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brookenelson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bountiful, Utah, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Hearts of Romaine

Watch Chef John grill lettuce. It’s delicious and ready in a flash!

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Caesar Salad Supreme

See how to make a classic salad with garlic croutons and a creamy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States