Orange Raisin Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Very easy recipe. For us they turned out a bit on the dry side, even though I added a bit of extra orange juice in case the raisins needed it. Tolerable, but not as moist as other recipes we use (the ones that use yogurt). I really liked that this recipe has so little sugar, but these also seemed overly salty to us. Next time I would reduce the salt and possibly increase the sugar slightly. Really like the combination of orange and raisins; just seems to need a bit of tweaking in our kitchen :) Oh, and the crust on top looked amazing - they are a really beautiful muffin :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
In 2009, I made a recipe from this site called Orange Raisin Muffins. They were wonderful. I saved the recipe to Word and have made it at least a dozen of times since then. My friend asked for the recipe and I sent her this link, just assuming it was the same recipe. Her muffins were not good; tasteless and dry. She swore up and down that she followed the recipe exactly. When I looked at this recipe versus the one I had saved in Word, I realized it wasn't even close to the same recipe. I can't seem to find the other recipe, so who knows what happened, but trust me, there are much better orange raisin muffin recipes out there. The one I loved had you grind up the whole orange, peel and all, in the blender, which gave it an amazing orange flavor. It also used butter instead of oil, more sugar, all juice instead of milk/juice, and a different ratio of baking powder, baking soda and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
I found these very dry. Flavor was fine. will cut down the baking time next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Kinda bland but luckily I had extra raisins (actually I accidentally spilled them into the batter) so the muffins were edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
These muffins are so good. Perfect orange flavor. I did cut back the salt to 1/2 teaspoon and did not add raisins. I may try golden raisins the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Nice texture, ok taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
WOW these muffins are great, fluffy, soft, and light. the orange is great and tangy. I added a bit more sugar, and cooked for 22 mins. i also added dark chocolate chips for some sourness. definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I used thawed frozen orange juice concentrate (NOT watered down) for more orange flavor. I also used soured lactose-free milk. I baked my muffins at 350 for just under 20 minutes. They smelled amazing and looked just like they should--I don't think there was enough liquid in this recipe, these turned out dry for me. I'd try these again but I'd add a quarter cup more of orange juice or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Love the flavor in these muffins and find, like other suggested, that dried cranberries do compliment the orange. Have substitute frozen orange juice (thawed) which gives them a deeper flavor. Depends on your taste.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Simple delicious :D I warmed the raisins in the microwave for 30 seconds and kept covered with the orange juice to plump them up. I also used brown sugar instead of white (used a little less)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRINEQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antibes, Provence-Alpes-Côte D'azur, France
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States