Orange Raisin Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This is just an OK cake. I followed the recipe exactly, did not change a thing. But although I enjoyed the taste of the cake, did not like the texture. It was so dense, not a light moist cake at all. Hopefully it will taste a little better in the morning! Just did not wow me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
It was very dense and the taste was just o.k.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
YUM! Really good, as a coffee cake or a morning snack! I took someone's advice and added the topping before baking; it worked nicely. I might omit the cinnamon in the topping next time, because I'm not 100% certain it works with the orange flavour. But otherwise, very good cake!! And I love using the WHOLE orange!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobolynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Photo by Sarah-May
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I made this for the photo contest and was amazed by how good it was. The cinnamon sugar topping made the cake. It was great warm or cold and will be perfect around the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah-May

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Christopher Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This is a GREAT cake - very moist, very flavorful and a crowd pleaser! I think you could easily serve this as a coffee cake with a crumb topping for breakfast. I frosted it with cream cheese icing for a birthday party and had compliments galore (a nice change from carrot cake was a frequent comment). This would also make great muffins w/ streusel topping - so many options! I plan to make this a lot at my B&B - thanks so much for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Great tasting cake; I substituted butter for shortening (and decreased it slightly) and added cardamom to the batter and used it for the topping instead of cinnamon. This is a comforting, old-fashioned style cake, not too sweet and great for brunch. I would use a smaller cake pan for a higher cake, and also the ingredient list is missing the sugar that goes in the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Banff, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I saw this cake being made on PBS and looked for the recipe. It's a great breakfast cake/meal, not too sweet! An important tip I got from PBS is to use a grinder attachment for your Kitchenaid mixer as it does a great job w/ the nuts, then raisins, then orange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
This is a great cake and a great way to use up your entire orange. I ate it for breakfast all week long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalnems

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
I made this for my boyfriend's birthday, and he liked it as well as my friends. It smelled great coming out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
I used butter instead of shortening. The ingredients list should include additional 1/4 cup of walnuts. I made the topping and placed it on top of the cake prior to baking. The cake tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States