Orange Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
The fresh orange flavor makes this a delightful snack bread for breakfast or get-togethers. It's also very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
I just made a loaf this afternoon and have already eaten two pieces! I made a few changes. I did half dark brown sugar, half white just because I like brown sugar. I also added maybe a 1/2 t. pumpkin pie spice and about the same amount of cinnamon. It smelled great while cooking and even awhile later when I went out of the house and came back, I could still smell it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
This recipe was so easy and very moist. I have made several times and found it easy to make substitutions. I’ve added coconut, used pecans instead of almonds and 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 white just to name a few. Great recipe, thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Great and easy recipe. Tastes great very light. It was very simple and quick. It does have a slight bitter taste from the orange, but a little sweetened orange, cranberry butter takes care of that. On my second batch I left out the raisins and almonds and added fresh chopped cranberries. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
This was a great recipe, i made it for my home ec class and it was very good. We left out the almonds and put in a teaspoon of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
This is fabulous! I left out the almonds and raisins, but put in 1c of fresh cranberries and one 4oz. tub of unsweetened applesause; I also used 4 oranges and zested all of them, squeezed them, then added enough o.j. I had in the fridge to make the 2/3c of juice. I then made a glaze with o.j. and confectioners sugar and 1t. vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
Quick, easy and tasty- full of orange flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Demimi
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
This tasted so good, but I made some subs. orange-strawberry-banana Crysal Light for OJ (which also made it more low-calorie, and didn't give it the bitter taste many others mentioned) whole grain wheat plus a little bit of baking soda and powder and salt instead of the baking mix (to also make it healthier) sugar with a sugar sub (because I thought there would be enough natural sweetness) I ommited the oil and just added in some extra juice, and instead of folding the nuts into the mixture (I used half walnuts, half almonds), I just put them on top and pressed them down in to the dough. I didn't find this to be moist enough (and I took it out earlier so it wasn't overbaked) and it didn't rise very much at all. Next time, I might add a couple T of strawberry or original flavored applesauce to make it more moist, and use alot more baking powder to make it rise more. Also, when i was mixing it it the batter was thicker than cookie dough so I thought I might have done something wrong, but I think it really is supposed to be that thick. Last, this tastes best when eaten with something sweet, such as a glaze or jelly or butter. I might make this into French Toast tommorrow, and see how that turns out. Oh, and (this is the real last thing, I promise) don't add any spices to it, as I ate this with cinnamon honey butter and I didn't find the tastes complimented each other. The honey tasted really good with it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demimi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Pretty good - I used fresh squeezed orange juice and fresh orange zest, added a tsp of vanilla extract and plumped the raisins in the microwave with a little extra vanilla. I also added a little ground flax meal and some whole wheat pastry flour, all purpose and baking powder instead of the baking mix. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Great flavor. I used lemon rind, oj, and pulverized almonds. For some reason the very center of the loaf, from the top to about one inch down was pretty gooey though the rest was perfect. It could just be my oven. I lined my pan with parchment so it came out perfectly. I also didn't have the ready-made biscuit mix, so I made my own using a biscuit recipe on this site. Worked great though it did take a few extra minutes of prep putting those additional ingredients together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Alfredson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States