Orange Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
Quick, easy and tasty- full of orange flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
The fresh orange flavor makes this a delightful snack bread for breakfast or get-togethers. It's also very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
I just made a loaf this afternoon and have already eaten two pieces! I made a few changes. I did half dark brown sugar, half white just because I like brown sugar. I also added maybe a 1/2 t. pumpkin pie spice and about the same amount of cinnamon. It smelled great while cooking and even awhile later when I went out of the house and came back, I could still smell it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
Whenever a highly rated recipe doesn't turn out, I think I must have done something wrong. But what can it be in this simple recipe that turned out "unacceptable" to my husband and me. The texture was gummy and crumbly, and the taste bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
This recipe was so easy and very moist. I have made several times and found it easy to make substitutions. I’ve added coconut, used pecans instead of almonds and 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 white just to name a few. Great recipe, thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Great and easy recipe. Tastes great very light. It was very simple and quick. It does have a slight bitter taste from the orange, but a little sweetened orange, cranberry butter takes care of that. On my second batch I left out the raisins and almonds and added fresh chopped cranberries. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
This was a great recipe, i made it for my home ec class and it was very good. We left out the almonds and put in a teaspoon of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Demimi
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
This tasted so good, but I made some subs. orange-strawberry-banana Crysal Light for OJ (which also made it more low-calorie, and didn't give it the bitter taste many others mentioned) whole grain wheat plus a little bit of baking soda and powder and salt instead of the baking mix (to also make it healthier) sugar with a sugar sub (because I thought there would be enough natural sweetness) I ommited the oil and just added in some extra juice, and instead of folding the nuts into the mixture (I used half walnuts, half almonds), I just put them on top and pressed them down in to the dough. I didn't find this to be moist enough (and I took it out earlier so it wasn't overbaked) and it didn't rise very much at all. Next time, I might add a couple T of strawberry or original flavored applesauce to make it more moist, and use alot more baking powder to make it rise more. Also, when i was mixing it it the batter was thicker than cookie dough so I thought I might have done something wrong, but I think it really is supposed to be that thick. Last, this tastes best when eaten with something sweet, such as a glaze or jelly or butter. I might make this into French Toast tommorrow, and see how that turns out. Oh, and (this is the real last thing, I promise) don't add any spices to it, as I ate this with cinnamon honey butter and I didn't find the tastes complimented each other. The honey tasted really good with it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demimi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Pretty good - I used fresh squeezed orange juice and fresh orange zest, added a tsp of vanilla extract and plumped the raisins in the microwave with a little extra vanilla. I also added a little ground flax meal and some whole wheat pastry flour, all purpose and baking powder instead of the baking mix. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Was not happy with how this bread turned out. I should always remember that things that start with baking mix are never up to my standards. Had a funny flavor/aftertaste (which is common with things that have baking mix as a starter) and had to bake much longer than stated in recipe. Would definitely not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lsfd311

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bergen, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States