Orange Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
I just made a loaf this afternoon and have already eaten two pieces! I made a few changes. I did half dark brown sugar, half white just because I like brown sugar. I also added maybe a 1/2 t. pumpkin pie spice and about the same amount of cinnamon. It smelled great while cooking and even awhile later when I went out of the house and came back, I could still smell it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
The fresh orange flavor makes this a delightful snack bread for breakfast or get-togethers. It's also very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
This recipe was so easy and very moist. I have made several times and found it easy to make substitutions. I’ve added coconut, used pecans instead of almonds and 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 white just to name a few. Great recipe, thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
Quick, easy and tasty- full of orange flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Was not happy with how this bread turned out. I should always remember that things that start with baking mix are never up to my standards. Had a funny flavor/aftertaste (which is common with things that have baking mix as a starter) and had to bake much longer than stated in recipe. Would definitely not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lsfd311

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bergen, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Great flavor. I used lemon rind, oj, and pulverized almonds. For some reason the very center of the loaf, from the top to about one inch down was pretty gooey though the rest was perfect. It could just be my oven. I lined my pan with parchment so it came out perfectly. I also didn't have the ready-made biscuit mix, so I made my own using a biscuit recipe on this site. Worked great though it did take a few extra minutes of prep putting those additional ingredients together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Alfredson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Pretty good - I used fresh squeezed orange juice and fresh orange zest, added a tsp of vanilla extract and plumped the raisins in the microwave with a little extra vanilla. I also added a little ground flax meal and some whole wheat pastry flour, all purpose and baking powder instead of the baking mix. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Great and easy recipe. Tastes great very light. It was very simple and quick. It does have a slight bitter taste from the orange, but a little sweetened orange, cranberry butter takes care of that. On my second batch I left out the raisins and almonds and added fresh chopped cranberries. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
Whenever a highly rated recipe doesn't turn out, I think I must have done something wrong. But what can it be in this simple recipe that turned out "unacceptable" to my husband and me. The texture was gummy and crumbly, and the taste bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
This is fabulous! I left out the almonds and raisins, but put in 1c of fresh cranberries and one 4oz. tub of unsweetened applesause; I also used 4 oranges and zested all of them, squeezed them, then added enough o.j. I had in the fridge to make the 2/3c of juice. I then made a glaze with o.j. and confectioners sugar and 1t. vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States