Orange Pumpkin Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
This is the best pumpkin bread I have ever eaten! I was a little leary about using a whole orange, but did so and was glad I did. We do not care for raisins, so I eliminated them. I also substituted pecans for the walnuts. This is definitely a keeper. I will be using this to make mini-loaves for Christmas this year. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Imperial, Missouri, USA
Living In: Robertsville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
I would give this a five- but the whole orange thing made me drop it to a 4. I'm a pastry cook and let me tell you...there is no benefit to putting the whole orange in...it will just add bitterness. Peel the zest and segment the orange. Then blend it. I made it this way and it was delicious. It is a very moist and heavy bread. I used dried cranberries and it all went well together. Will become a regular for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
Delicious! I did use Splenda instead of sugar. I made 6 muffins and put the rest in a bread pan. Some didn't seem to care for the orange peel flavor, so the next time I might peel half before I grind it. My husband and i thought it was amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA
Photo by ULTRAGIRL
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I made this for the first time this weekend for a fall brunch. It was wonderful! I substituted sweetened dried cranberries instead of raisins for more of a holiday look and flavor. The orange is a wonderful addition to the pumpkin - gives it a brighter and fresher taste. I'm making another loaf to take to work tomorrow, if it makes it out of the house...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Everyone loves this! It's better than giving pumpkin pie for dessert, because it has less sugar and calories than pie. The loaf is mostly sweetened with the orange instead of SUGAR! Thank you so much for posting this recipe. I have one cooling on the stove right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AspirationchaseR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
This is SO yummy! I wanted to use up a can of mikans so I substituted those for the orange. This made the loaf very moist, maybe a bit too moist. I also left out the nuts because I don't like them. Even so, it is absolutely delicious and I will make it again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This is really very good. Not too sweet and not too orangey at all. Very moist as well. I did the orange in the food processor and it worked great. The only other thing I did differently was to use 1 cup whole wheat flour for 1 cup of white flour. And Craisins, just because I had them. Very very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
This bread is truly delicious. It does need to be baked the whole time; shortcuts don't pay. Because of the comments of other reviewers I decided not to add quite all of the mashed orange, and the flavor combination was sensational.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This bread smells really good!!! I took off one star because I didn't really like having the orange in there. I was hoping the texture would be more bread-like. It's just a little too fudge-like for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
very good. never heard of using the whole orange before, but turned out very nice. I used whole wheat flour, and 4 egg whites to make a little healthier. this is great for breakfast, you get vitamin A, vitamin c, protein and fiber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Dimas, California, USA
Living In: Tualatin, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States