Orange Pumpkin Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This is an extraordinary bread. The first time I made it I grated the outer orange peel and then put in the orange sections thinking if I used the whole orange it would be too bitter. The next time I followed the directions using the whole orange and the difference was remarkable. So follow the directions! I did try different nuts as I had hazelnuts on hand and I prefer them to the walnuts. I also used craisins because I had them and thought they would go well with the orange. I used fresh cooked squash instead of canned and I had to eliminate the water because my squash was a bit watery- so beware if you go that route. This is a wonderful recipe- my husband and I eat it for breakfast, afternoon and late evening snack. Can't get enough. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksburg, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Placitas, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
This was delicious. I made it just as it was written and I won't change a thing in the future. I might mix up the type of nuts or change the raisins to dates just to try it, but it was delicious as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Amazing bread, definitely puts you in the holiday mood. Mine turned out very heavy and moist. Might have been because I used 3 small satsumas instead of 1 lg orange and there's was too much juice that way. I substituted craisins for nuts since my son has a nut allergy. Recipe made too much for my loaf pan. Next time I'll put some into muffin tins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
This is a very good recipe. It's incredibly moist. The orange flavor was a little to stong for me, so next time I won't put as much in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Big Bear City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
I thoroughly liked this recipe. I had no problem with the slight bitterness from the whole orange rind (as I don't like things that are overly sweet) nor did I have a problem with the overpowering orange taste (as I like the orange taste better than the pumpkin taste and am still getting the benefit of the beta-carotene). I used cooked fresh pumpkin rather than canned and baked the loaf 1 hour and 20 minutes because of the many people who complained of the loaf seeming to come out underbaked. Mine came out perfectly. I'm saving this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
This is the best pumpkin bread I have ever eaten! I was a little leary about using a whole orange, but did so and was glad I did. We do not care for raisins, so I eliminated them. I also substituted pecans for the walnuts. This is definitely a keeper. I will be using this to make mini-loaves for Christmas this year. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Imperial, Missouri, USA
Living In: Robertsville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
I would give this a five- but the whole orange thing made me drop it to a 4. I'm a pastry cook and let me tell you...there is no benefit to putting the whole orange in...it will just add bitterness. Peel the zest and segment the orange. Then blend it. I made it this way and it was delicious. It is a very moist and heavy bread. I used dried cranberries and it all went well together. Will become a regular for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
Delicious! I did use Splenda instead of sugar. I made 6 muffins and put the rest in a bread pan. Some didn't seem to care for the orange peel flavor, so the next time I might peel half before I grind it. My husband and i thought it was amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA
Photo by ULTRAGIRL
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I made this for the first time this weekend for a fall brunch. It was wonderful! I substituted sweetened dried cranberries instead of raisins for more of a holiday look and flavor. The orange is a wonderful addition to the pumpkin - gives it a brighter and fresher taste. I'm making another loaf to take to work tomorrow, if it makes it out of the house...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Everyone loves this! It's better than giving pumpkin pie for dessert, because it has less sugar and calories than pie. The loaf is mostly sweetened with the orange instead of SUGAR! Thank you so much for posting this recipe. I have one cooling on the stove right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AspirationchaseR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States