Orange Pumpkin Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I felt like something chocolate, so I added dark chocolate chips, and drizzled chocolate on top. It was so delicious, chocolatey and moist. I did not use the orange rid, as I missed that in the directions, and used a tangerine, as that's what I had. I've bought some candied orange rind, to use next time, to boost the orange flavour. Also, doubled the nuts, 'cause I'm a nut Nut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Borisenko

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salmon Arm, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
like the orange, still not good enogh for cookie exchange
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
very moist. I swapped the raisins for cranberries. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I followed the recipe as written, but used cupcake tins to make muffins. Cooking at 350 degrees for 25 minutes, the recipe made 18 perfect muffins. I wanted to try this recipe before making more for Thanksgiving. I think they will be well received by my whole family. They are sweet, but not to the elevation of dessert, yet a simple cream cheese frosting or orange frosting could easily bring them to the dessert level. These would be perfect for a tea party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Traveler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
I love this loaf, use a small orange or it might be too strong with the oils in the rind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Food*on*face

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I made this vegan style. Used canola oil in place of butter, omitted eggs (substituted with a tbs extra oil and 1/4 water). Bread was very moist. Did not have raisins or walnuts (these would add more texture to the bread). There was a little too much clove flavor for my liking-next time I would use half as much (maybe replace half with Nutmeg?) All in all pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Instead of raisins I did craisins because I had them on hand. It smelled wonderful and people loved it. Although I felt it had too much flavor to it. It was a huge hit with those I gave it to for Christmas gifts though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jess_caleb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Cannon Beach, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I was curious how using a whole orange would work so I made this. I do not like cloves so I changed up the spices 1 teaspoon of cinnamon 1/2 teaspoon of ginger, 1 teaspoon vanilla. It came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Soooooo moist and yummy! We chowed through 3/4 of the loaf before it was even cooled off! Even my extremely picky five-year old loved it! My tweaks: I did 1c all-purpose flour & 1c whole wheat flour. I completely forgot to add the nuts & raisins. And I substituted 1 tsp of pumpkin pie spice for the cinnamon & cloves. I think it could use a touch more spice (because I LOVE these spices), so I'll probably increase it to 1.5 tsp next time. And my orange was kinda small, so I think I'll use 1.5 small oranges. Thanks for this wonderful recipe! I will be giving a couple loaves as gifts for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I saw Sarah Jo's review and decided to use fresh cranberries (I bought several bags on clearance after Thanksgiving). I love the combo of orange/cranberry. I pulsed it in my food processor after doing the orange. My orange was probably only medium sized, but very juicy and delish. I subbed 1 cup of Whole Wheat Pastry flour for 1 cup of All Purpose. I used my homemade pumpkin pie spice (it has a touch of cardamom in it, makes it so good!). Less walnuts, only because I didn't have many, and left out the raisins. I baked it in my pampered chef mini loaf stone. Delish, moist and bursting with flavor! Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States